Scores Upcoming Results
06-Nov-2014 16:00:00 GMT
India v Sri Lanka, 2nd ODI, Ahmedabad

Rayudu Ton Drives India to Easy Win

Ahmedabad: Ambati Rayadu scored his maiden century and Shikhar Dhawan scored a half century as India made short work of the 275-run target set by Sri Lanka in the second one-day international of the five match series at Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad on Thursday.

With this victory, India has taken a commanding 2-0 lead in the series.

Batting first, Sri Lanka overcame its early wobbles as an unbeaten Angelo Matthews (92) and a quickfire 30 by tail-ender Dhammika Prasad helped the visitors post a sporting 274-8. Earlier, Kumar Sangakkara had scored 61. However, the Lankans missed a good partnership in the middle, with the batsmen throwing away their wickets at regular intervals.

For India, Umesh Yadav, Ravichandra Ashwin and Akshar Patel all nabbed a brace of wickets each.

Coming in with a stiff total to chase, Indian openers Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane took some time to get going, before Rahane fell with only 18 runs on the board. Thereafter Dhawan and Ambati Rayadu set up a steady partnership, before the former finally fell for 79.

Thereafter, skipper Virat Kohli and Rayadu set up a good partnership, with Kohli falling just one run short of his half century. From there on, India had an easy stroll to the finish line, though they lost one more wicket in Suresh Raina, with Rayadu finishing the innings unbeaten at 121. India finished at 275-4 with 33 balls to spare.

Among Sri Lanka's bowlers, Seekkuge Prasanna was the most impressive, picking up three wickets, while opening bowlers Angelo Matthews and Lahiru Gamage had restricted the Indian batsmen for long periods.

Earlier, Sri Lanka have won the toss and have opted to bat.

One change for India -- Ravindra Jadeja comes in for injured Varun Aaron and Sri Lanka also one change -- Kushal Perera replaces Upul Tharanga.


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli (Capt.), Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma

Sri Lanka: Kushal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews (Capt.), Ashan Priyanjan, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Suraj Randiv, Dhammika Prasad, Lahiru Gamage

Brief scores
Sri Lanka -
274/8 (Mathews 92*, Sangakkara 61)
India - 275/4 (Rayudu 121, Dhawan 79, Kohli 49, Prasanna 3-53)
Result - India won by 6 wickets
MOM - Ambati Rayudu (India)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links