Scores Upcoming Results
23-May-2016 10:39:00 GMT
India in Zimbabwe 2016

Chahal, Fazal Earn-call up for Zimbabwe tour

Mumbai: MS Dhoni will lead India's revamped ODI and Twenty20 international squad in next month's tour of Zimbabwe, one that features five uncapped players and missing a host of regular players.

BCCI selectors to give a break to Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya and Umesh Yadav for the Zimbabwe tour that comprises three ODIs and three T20Is.

Among those to be called up to in their places are the Haryana legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal and off spinning allrounder Jayant Yadav, Vidarbha batsman Faiz Fazal, Punjab batsman Mandeep Singh and Karnataka's Karun Nair.

Others to earn selection are KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Kedar Jadhav and Jaydev Unadkat. Pawan Negi, Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh have been dropped from the T20I squad, while Gurkeerat Singh is missing from India's previous ODI squad.

Rahul, 24, is RCB's third-highest run-getter this year with 386 at 55.14 from 12 matches, scoring four fifties. Key to his first selection in India's limited-overs squad is keeping wickets for RCB; he has nine dismissals behind the stumps in IPL 2016.

Vidarbha's Fazal has never been selected for an India side before, and was not part of the IPL. The 27-year-old had a successful Ranji Trophy season and scored 100 and 53 for India A in the Deodhar Trophy.

Mandeep, 24, had a good 2015-16 domestic season while Yadav, 26, has been one of Haryana's brightest cricketers for the past few years.

Jadhav has played four ODIs and two T20Is, Unadkat seven ODIs and one Test, Sran three ODIs, and Rayudu 31 ODIs and three T2OIs.

India's tour of Zimbabwe comprises three ODIs on June 11, 13 and 15 and three T20Is on June 18, 20 and 22, all to be played at the Harare Sports Club.

India ODI and T20 squad

  • MS Dhoni (Capt & wk)
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Rishi Dhawan
  • Faiz Fazal
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Dhawal Kulkarni
  • Karun Nair
  • Manish Pandey
  • Axar Patel
  • KL Rahul
  • Ambati Rayudu
  • Mandeep Singh
  • Barinder Sran
  • Jaydev Unadkat
  • Jayant Yadav

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links