Scores Upcoming Results
20-Feb-2018 10:12:00 GMT
NZ v Aus, Tri-Series final, Auckland

Unbeaten Australia Favorites in T20 Final against New Zealand

Auckland: Australia kept winning, and came up against New Zealand in their final fixture, at Auckland’s Eden Park on Wednesday.

When the two teams met in the first match of the Trans-Tasman Twenty20 International Tri-Series, it was all Australia in Sydney.

Billy Stanlake and Andrew Tye shared seven wickets to keep New Zealand to 117/9, and then Australia cruised to 96/3 in 11.3 overs after the target was revised by the DLS method.

Martin Guptill smashed 105 in 74 balls and Colin Munro had 76 from 33 balls as New Zealand put up 243/6.

Another day, that should have been more than enough. But by the time David Warner, D’Arcy Short, Glenn Maxwell and Aaron Finch were done feasting on the bowling at the small ground with a true pitch, Australia had not only reached 245/5, they had gotten there with seven balls in hand. It was the highest chase in T20I history.

With the final to be played at the same venue, and all the personnel from the 16 February game very much around, the spectators at the 50,000-capacity stadium should expect a lot of catches to come their way as another big-hitting extravaganza is quite on the cards come Wednesday.

This one has all the makings of a classic, a high-scoring one. Australia are favourites after their bull run through the group stage, but as always in a T20 game between two strong sides, the past might not matter hugely come the big evening.

Teams from

New Zealand:
Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Mark Chapman, Tim Seifert (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ben Wheeler, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Anaru Kitchen.

Australia: David Warner (capt), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Pitch and conditions
It’s supposed to be a pleasant evening, with a few clouds around but nothing too threatening.

Match facts

Wednesday 21 February 2018
Start time: 19:00 local (06:00 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links