Scores Upcoming Results
20-Aug-2010 02:43:00 GMT
ICC awards

Swann Added to List For Top ICC Award

London: England's Graeme Swann was added to the long list for the International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricketer of the Year award on Thursday after his original omission sparked a furious reaction in Britain.

Former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, who chaired the selection committee, insisted Swann's absence from the original 16-man list was a "genuine oversight".

Lloyd, chairman of a selection panel that included fellow ex-internationals Angus Fraser (England), Matthew Hayden (Australia), Ravi Shastri (India) and Zimbabwe's Duncan Fletcher, also a former England coach, said in an ICC statement issued Thursday: "It was a genuine oversight on the part of the committee as Graeme fully deserved to be nominated in this category.

"Graeme, during the voting period, produced some very strong performances which puts him alongside the other top performers."

"On behalf of the selection panel, I apologise for this oversight," added Lloyd, also the chairman of the ICC's cricket committee.

During the voting period, from August 24 2009 to August 10 2010, Swann took 49 wickets, including six five-wicket hauls in a Test innings and one 10-wicket haul in a match.

The 31-year-old, also a member of England's ICC World Twenty20 winning team, took 28 one-day international wickets at an average of 23.28 with an economy rate of 4.46 during the same period.

Former England captain Michael Atherton branded Swann's original omission as "an utter disgrace".

Meanwhile current England wicketkeeper Matt Prior, speaking after stumps on the first day of the third Test against Pakistan at The Oval here on Wednesday said: "All I would say is that Swanny has bowled brilliantly.

"He has been fantastic for us and it has been very obvious for everyone to see. He has been full of confidence and bowled beautifully.

Eight players are each up for three awards as part of the ICC's annual ceremony designed to honour Test, one-day international and combined performances.

Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag from India, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia and Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene are all candidates for the Test, ODI and player of the year categories.

Short-lists for each award will be produced before the ceremony in Bengaluru, India on October 6.

Long list of nominees for leading 2010 ICC awards:

Cricketer of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA), Doug Bollinger (AUS), Michael Clarke (AUS), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Ryan Harris (AUS), Mitchell Johnson (AUS), Jacques Kallis (SA), Morne Morkel (SA), Ricky Ponting (AUS), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), Virender Sehwag (IND), Dale Steyn (SA), Graeme Swann (ENG), Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Daniel Vettori (NZ), AB de Villiers (SA), Shane Watson (AUS)

Test Player of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA), James Anderson (ENG), Mohammad Asif (PAK), Doug Bollinger (AUS), MS Dhoni (IND), Tamim Iqbal (BAN), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Jacques Kallis (SA), Simon Katich (AUS), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Thilan Samaraweera (SL), Virendra Sehwag (IND), Dale Steyn (SA), Graeme Swann (ENG), Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Shane Watson (AUS).

ODI Player of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA), Doug Bollinger (AUS), MS Dhoni (IND), Tillekeratne Dilshan (SRI), Ryan Harris (AUS, Michael Hussey (AUS), Jacques Kallis (SA), Ricky Ponting (AUS), Virendra Sehwag (IND), Sachin Tendulkar (IND), De AB de Villiers (SA), Daniel Vettori (NZ), Shane Watson (AUS), Cameron White (AUS)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links