Scores Upcoming Results
31-Aug-2014 13:14:00 GMT
England v India, only T20, Edgbaston

Uncapped Roy Included in England's T20 Squad

London: England selectors have announced a 14-man squad for the NatWest International T20 against India taking place on Sunday September 7 at Edgbaston.

Surrey batsman Jason Roy, who has represented England Lions this summer and played a key role in helping his county to the NatWest T20 Blast Finals Day earlier this month, has been given a chance by selectors.

Roy, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan and James Taylor are the four players in the squad who are not involved in the ongoing ODI series.

"Taylor is available to play for Notts Outlaws in the Royal London Cup semi-final on Saturday 6 September and will only join up with the squad ahead of Sunday if the semi-final concludes on Saturday and the reserve day is not needed," the ECB stated on its website.

Eoin Morgan will captain the side in the absence of Stuart Broad who is undergoing surgery on his right knee this week.

"This one off NatWest International T20 provides us with an opportunity to look at players who have impressed recently in domestic cricket and gives them a chance to test themselves on the international stage against high quality opposition," England's national selector James Whitaker was quoted as saying. "I would like to wish Eoin Morgan and his squad all the very best against a strong Indian side."

England NatWest T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire) Jason Roy (Surrey), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links