Scores Upcoming Results
07-Sep-2014 04:22:00 GMT
England v India, only T20, Edgbaston

India-England Look to Finish With win in one-off T20I

Edgbaston: India and England looks to finish with a win in one-off Twenty20 international at Edgbaston on Sunday.

Following Alastair Cook's candid admission that England have "more questions than answers" following their 3-1 defeat in the five-match ODI series to India, the focus now moves to the one-off T20I.

The fact that England won't be led by Cook at Edgbaston must have come as a big relief for those who are holding his captaincy as a big reason behind the team playing old school cricket when it comes to one-day internationals.

England's victory at Leeds notwithstanding, Edgbaston will provide the James Whitaker-led national selection panel a chance to have one more look at Eoin Morgan's captaincy.

The ECB responded to growing calls of young blood by ringing in four changes for the one-off T20I. England will embark on a tour of Sri Lanka in November before reaching Australia for a tri-series preceding the World Cup in February. India, on the other hand, will hope to guard against complacency that was visible in their 41-run loss in the fifth ODI at Leeds.

India inflicted three heavy defeats on England but the MS Dhoni-led side allowed the home team to avoid a whitewash. After conceding runs in the proximity of 300 at Leeds, opener Ajinkya Rahane fell in the weakest fashion, pushing away at a delivery with no conviction. Anderson soon got rid of Virat Kohli, whose poor form showed no signs of reversal.

India are unlikely to make too many changes on Sunday, however, one might see Dhoni give one more chance to young allrounder Stuart Binny and rest someone like Mohammed Shami.


Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Moeen Ali, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (Capt.), Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler (wk), Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Steven Finn, James Tredwell, Harry Gurney, James Taylor

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Sanju Samson (wk), Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Karn Sharma, Mohit Sharma

Pitch & condition

India's spinners could enjoyed the conditions.

Stats and trivia

  • India have played the fewest T20 matches, 52, among Test teams apart from Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. Pakistan have played the most T20 games, 82, and England have played 73.
  • Suresh Raina, on 922 international T20 runs, and Virat Kohli, on 906, have a chance of becoming India's highest run-getter in the format. Yuvraj Singh, who currently holds the record, has 968.

Match facts
Sunday September 7, 2014
Start time 1500 local (1400 GMT, 7pm IST)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links