Scores Upcoming Results
07-Sep-2014 17:30:00 GMT
England v India, only T20, Edgbaston

Morgan Helps England Thriller T20 Win

Birmingham: England rounded off their international summer with a thrilling three-run victory over India in their one-off Twenty20 international at Edgbaston.

The match went to the final ball but India captain Mahendra Dhoni failed to hit the six that would have won it.

A blistering 71 off 31 balls from captain Eoin Morgan had lifted the hosts to an imposing total of 180-7.

Virat Kohli put India on course with 66 but fine death bowling by Harry Gurney and Chris Woakes sealed England's win.

The tourists, chasing 181 to win, needed 17 runs in the last over but MS Dhoni, despite hitting Chris Woakes for a six and a four, failed to take the team over the line.

However, Virat Kohli brought an end to his poor form on this tour with a brilliant 66 off 41 balls. Kohli, who also overtook Yuvraj Singh (968 in 40 matches) as leading India run-scorer in T20Is.

India's start to the chase wasn't great, as the in-form Ajinkya Rahane was bolwed round his legs by Moeen Ali in the second over for 8.

Kohli joined Dhawan at the crease and looked in great control from the word go. He and Dhawan added 79 for the second wicket before the latter in an attempt to hit Woakes out of the park lost his stumps for 33 off 28 balls. However, it was his 41-run stand with Suresh Raina that put India in the ascendency.

Kohli departed against the run of the play off the bowling of Steven Finn with the team still needing 50 off 34 balls to win and that broke the team's momentum.

Raina and Dhoni failed to score quick runs and when Harry Gurney cleaned up Raina (25) with a brilliant yorker India still needed 36 off 19 balls. Ravindra Jadeja's run-out for 7 made the situation worse for India. With Ambati Rayudu failing to connect the properly, Dhoni took it upon himself to get the required runs in the final over. Alas, he failed, a rare occasion in T20s.

Earlier, T20 debutant Karn Sharma had a good international debut as England posted a solid 180 for 7, thanks to skipper Eoin Morgan's heroic 71 off 31 balls. Karn, returned figures of 1 for 28, while Mohammed Shami, with 3 for 38, came in as the best Indian bowler. The Indian bowlers conceded 81 runs in the last five overs.

Rahane had a great time in the field, playing a big role in England's first three dismissals. Surrey's big-hitting batsman Jason Roy, who also made his international debut, fell in the third over bowled by Shami, giving a simple catch to Rahane at covers after he and his fellow opener Alex Hales took 17 runs off the first over bowled by R Ashwin.

Next batsman Ali also found Rahane at covers two balls later, Mohit Sharma being the bowler this time.

Despite quick blows, Hales continued playing big shots and along with Joe Root added 48 runs for the third wicket to stabilise the English innings. However, both batsmen departed in quick succession.

Rahane ran in from long-on to take a stunner to remove Hales off Jadeja for 40, while Root's miscued slog sweep found Rayudu, who ran in from deep midwicket to take a good catch off the bowling of Karn.

Wicketkeeper batsman Jos Buttler kept Morgan company for a while before giving a catch to Rayudu for 10 off Shami. Unperturbed by the situation, Morgan kept playing his natural game and punished the Indian bowlers, especially towards the end. The 19th over, bowled by Mohit, yielded 21 runs with Morgan hitting two sixes and one four.

Morgan's innings came to an end in the last over as he hit Shami into the hands of Rahane on the long-on boundary. It was Rahane's fourth catch.

Ravi Bopara smashed two fours and a six off the remaining balls of the Shami over to take England to a big total. Off the last ball of the innings, Woakes was run out for a duck. Bopara remained unbeaten on 21 off nine balls.

Earlier, England have won the toss and opted to bat.

Jason Roy to debut for England while Karn Sharma debut for India.


Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Moeen Ali, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (Capt.), Jos Buttler (wk), Ravi Bopara, Chris Woakes, James Tredwell, Steven Finn, Harry Gurney

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (Capt.), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Karn Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami

Brief scores
England -
180/7 (Morgan 71, Hales 40, Shami 3-38)
India - 177/5 (Kohli 66, Dhawan 33)
Result - England won by 3 runs

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links