Scores Upcoming Results
04-Oct-2014 16:40:00 GMT
Chennai v Kolkata, CLT20 2014, final, Bangalore

Raina, Negi Helps Super Kings to Title Win

Bangalore:  Pawan Negi picked 5/22 and Suresh Raina scored 109* as Chennai Super Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by eight wickets at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore on Sunday and wins CLT20 2014.
KKR looked set to take their maiden trophy after Gautam Gambhir's flawless 80 powered the IPL champions to 180 for 6 but Raina (109* off 62 balls, 6x4s, 8x6s) went one better to break KKR's heart as CSK got over the line in 18.3 overs with eight wickets hand.

KKR greatly missed the services of Sunil Narine who didn't feature in the all-important match after being reported for a suspect bowling action twice in the tournament.

Losing Dwayne Smith early to Pat Cummins, Narine's replacement, for 8 had made the CSK dugout anxious but a 118-run stand off 74 balls between Raina and
Brendon McCullum took the game away from Gambhir's men.

Robin Uthappa's missed stumping off Yadav in the 13th over and Yusuf Pathan's drop catch off his own bowling in the 16th over when Raina was on 78 and 88 respectively dashed whatever little hopes KKR might have had.

MS Dhoni, promoting himself up the order, joined Raina at the crease after Pathan had McCullum caught for 39 at deep midwicket and both finished the job with Dhoni (23 off 14 balls) unleashing his fury on Cummins picking up two sixes in the space of three balls in the 19th over to close out the game in style.

Earlier, Gambhir ended on the losing side but once again proved that he is a big-match player. The left-hander, his runs that came off 52 balls with the help of seven fours and three sixes helped KKR post an imposing total. Even Pawan Negi's brilliant figures of 5 for 22 - his career best - couldn't stop KKR from reaching that total on a pitch supporting spinners a great deal.

After being put into bat, Gambhir and Uthappa (39) added 91 in 10.5 overs. Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, R Ashwin all were rendered ineffective by the brilliant batsmanship from the opening duo. Negi's strikes in the following overs, however, broke KKR's momentum.

A well-flighted delivery from him in his second over lured Uthappa out of the crease and Dhoni did the rest behind the wickets. The next ball that was a bit short induced an edge off Jacques Kallis but Raina spilled it at first slip diving to his left.

Earlier, Chennai Super Kings have won the toss and have opted to field.

CSK unchanged while KKR force for change -- Pat Cummins comes in to replace Sunil Narine.


Chennai: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Pawan Negi, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma

Kolkata: Robin Uthappa (wk), Gautam Gambhir (Capt.), Jacques Kallis, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Suryakumar Yadav, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins

Brief scores
Kolkata Knight Riders -
180/6 (Gambhir 80, Uthappa 39, Pandey 32, Negi 5-22)
Chennai Super Kings - 185/2 (Raina 109*, McCullum 39)
Result - Chennai Super Kings won by 8 wickets
MOM - Pawan Negi (Chennai Super Kings)
Man of the series - Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links