Scores Upcoming Results
02-Oct-2014 17:44:00 GMT
Punjab v Chennai, 2nd semi-final, CLT20, Hyderabad

Dominant Chennai Super Kings Through Final

Hyderabad: Dwayne Bravo's 67 guided Chennai Super Kings to a thumping 65-run win against Kings XI Punjab in the second semifinal at Hyderabad.

Dwayne Bravo (67 off 39 balls, 7 x 4s, 3x6s) was dropped twice and the West Indies allrounder made Kings XI Punjab pay big time as Chennai Super Kings staged an incredible comeback in the second half of the innings to post 182 for 7. CSK, which was put in to bat, scored 117 runs in the last 10 overs.

When Parvinder Awana and Thisara Perera's early strikes reduced CSK to 41 for 3 in six overs, things looked really bad for the team from Chennai. With Dwayne Smith (14), Brendon McCullum (6) and Suresh Raina (6) back in the pavilion, it appeared CSK had lost the plot in what was billed a revenge match as KXIP had beaten them earlier this year in the second qualifier of the Indian Premier League.

With plenty of doubts hovering over the CSK dugout, Dwayne Bravo joined Faf du Plessis who returned for this match from an injury. Bravo could have been dispatched for 8 when Glenn Maxwell, one of the safest hands in the KXIP team, dropped a regulation catch at long-off off Karanveer Singh in the 11th over.

Maxwell missed his chance and Bravo made the most of the opportunity, getting a lot of support from du Plessis who looked in control during his innings of 46 off 33 balls. Both added 65 runs to bail their team out of a gloomy situation before du Plessis was cleaned up by Akshar Patel. A ball before the du Plessis dismissal, Patel had dropped Bravo who was on 30 at that time.

Parvinder Awana became the first Indian and just the second bowler to take a hat-trick in the history of Champions League T20.

Playing against Chennai Super Kings in the semi-final of the 2014 edition, Awana picked up the wicket of Suresh Raina at the end of the 6th over. He then returned in the 17th over and took the wickets of Pawan Negi and CSK captain MS Dhoni from back-to-back deliveries to complete the feat.

The 28-year-old’s achievement initially went unnoticed, with the commentators only realising what had happened after a good couple of minutes. Even the official Twitter account of the Mohali-based side gave a delayed reaction.

Earlier, Kings XI Punjab have won the toss and have opted to field.

Kings XI unchanged. A a couple of changes for CSK -  Faf du Plessis back replaces Hastings and Negi comes in for Mithun Manhas.


Punjab: Virender Sehwag, Manan Vohra, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, George Bailey (Capt.), Thisara Perera, Akshar Patel, Anureet Singh, Parvinder Awana, Karanveer Singh

Chennai: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Pawan Negi

Brief scores

Chennai Super Kings - 182/7 (Bravo 67, du Plessis 46, Awana 4-30)
Kings XI Punjab - 117/10 (Patel 31)
Result - Chennai Super Kings won by 65 runs

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links