Scores Upcoming Results
22-May-2018 17:31:00 GMT
SRH vs CSK - Qualifier 1, Mumbai

Faf du Plessis carries CSK to 7th IPL final

Chennai Super Kings Innings 140 for 2 (du Plessis 67*, Rashid Khan 2-11) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad 139 for 7 [Brathwaite 43*, Bravo 2-25) by two wickets.

Mumbai: Faf du Plessis pulled off heist as Chennai Super Kings turned around the tables and beat Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018 Qualifier 1 to make it to the tournament final.

Faf added 23 off 9 balls with Shardul Thakur to see CSK through. This will be the seventh time CSK will play an IPL final.

Chennai needed 43 off 18 balls when Kane Williamson risked Carlos Brathwaite with the over. CSK had 3 wickets in hand but more importantly Faf was at the crease. Harbhajan Singh gave a single to the set batsman off the first ball.

The order of the over went 4, 6, 4 and a run out (1). More importantly, Faf kept the strike and ended the over with another four, which meant CSK needed 23 off their final two overs.

Just when CSK needed a slice of luck, they found it. Siddarth Kaul bowled two good balls both leaking fours, both past the wicketkeeper, one off Thakur’s outside edge and the other inside. However, Thakur finished the over with a boundary off the final ball. CSK needed six off the final over.

Faf slammed a six off the first ball off Bhuvneshwar Kumar to pull it off.

Earlier, MS Dhoni called right and invited SRH to bat. SRH were straightaway on back foot when Shikhar Dhawan chopped the first ball of the match from Deepak Chahar on to the stumps.

Kane Williamson continued his brilliant form and struck 3 fours in the over. He, along with Shreevats Goswami, began a counterattack and added 34 inside 4 overs before the latter hit Lungi Ngidi back to him.

Three balls later, Williamson, who had just regained the Orange Cap, perished to a short ball outside leg from Shardul Thakur, for a 15-ball 24. Inside the Powerplay, SRH had lost Dhawan and Williamson, the men who contributed to over 49 per cent of the team’s runs this season.

Shakib Al Hasan looked good during his brief stay, striking 2 fours before falling to a short ball from Bravo, getting a faint edge to Dhoni.

Manish Pandey and Yusuf Pathan found it tough to keep the scoreboard moving, especially against Jadeja. They added 19 in 29 balls before Pandey lobbed one straight back to Jadeja. Pandey’s dismal run in IPL 2018 continued. He fell for 8 off 16 balls. Brathwaite, picked ahead of Alex Hales, then survived a run out scare in the second ball.

Brathwaite and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (7 in 11) added 51 for the seventh wicket. However, SRH missed a trick by not sending in power-hitter Rashid Khan ahead of Bhuvi.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links