Scores Upcoming Results
02-Sep-2017 15:07:00 GMT
Sri Lanka v India, 5th ODI, RPS Colombo

India aim to ODI whitewash against Sri Lanka

Colombo: High on confidence after taking an unassailable 4-0 lead, a dominant India will look to complete a whitewash of Sri Lanka when the two teams face off in the fifth and final One-day International (ODI) at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

The visitors rode on blistering centuries from skipper Virat Kohli and his deputy Rohit Sharma to thrash Sri Lanka by 168 runs in the fourth ODI and will once again bank on their batting prowess to decimate the hosts.

Former India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who shared an unbeaten 101-run stand with young gun Manish Pandey, he still unbeaten in all three innings.

With the series already in their kitty, Kohli might opt to make a few changes in the playing XI and miss opener Shikhar Dhawan he returns home, to accommodate Ajinkya Rahane, who has been warming the bench throughout the series.

In the bowling department, pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Shardul Thakur, along with the young left-arm spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel, will once again aim to shatter the inexperienced home batting line-up.

Sri Lanka, in a transition phase, will expect their young guns to give it back to the visitors in the final ODI if they are to escape another humiliating whitewash.

Captain Lasith Malinga conceded that he will assess his future after the current series against India. The 34-year-old pacer has looked a shadow of his former self throughout the series.

The hosts will also bank on the experience of former skipper Angelo Mathews and Kusal Mendis, besides young Niroshan Dickwella, who has failed to convert his promising starts in the series.

Young spinner Akila Dananjaya is also expected to play a key role in the bowling department alongside the likes of Vishwa Fernando and Lakshan Sandakan.

Teams from

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga (capt.), Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Milinda Siriwardana, Vishwa Fernando, Dilshan Munaweera, Malinda Pushpakumara, Akila Dananjaya, Kusal Mendis, Wanidu Hasaranga, Thisara Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan.

India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (WK), Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Lokesh Rahul, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Pitch and weather
The Khettarama track has a little bit of grass again, which means the seamers are likely to be effective. It is possible afternoon showers will interrupt play.


If India win the series 5-0, it will be the second successive time that bilateral series between these countries have finished with that scoreline. India had earlier achieved this feat, thrashing Sri Lanka 5-0, at home in 2014-15.

Match facts

Sunday Sept. 3, 2017 (d/n)
Start time 1430 local (0900 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links