Scores Upcoming Results
19-Jan-2013 16:28:00 GMT
South Africa v New Zealand, 1st ODI, Paarl

Franklin Steers One Wicket Thriller

Paarl: James Franklin remained unbeaten on a brilliant 47 as New Zealand pulled off a tremendous one wicket win over South Africa in the 1st ODI at Boland Park, Paarl on Saturday.

This is New Zealand's first victory in an ODI match since August. They won the third ODI against the West Indies at St. Kitts. After that, they have lost two against the West Indies and three against the Sri Lanka.

Thanks to New Zealand's victory here, India are now the new No.1 ranked team in ODIs. Nice way for World Champion to celebrate it with a thumping win over England in Ranchi.

On another note, we would like to apologize for the loss of commentary during the middle overs of the match. There were frequent power-cuts at Paarl and there was no feeds available from the host broadcasters. The technical difficulties from the source are regretted.

New Zealand got off to a horrid start as the top order once again capitulated. BJ Watling (45) and Brendon McCullum (26) got going thanks to a gritty partnership.

However, in the middle overs, they once again stuttered before Nathan McCullum (24) played a nice cameo. The 47 run stand for the 9th wicket between Kyle Mills (26) and James Franklin got New Zealand closer to the target.

In the end, Mitchell McClenaghan managed to survive and Franklin scored the winning runs.

Earlier, debutant left-arm opening bowler Mitchell McClenaghan took four wickets.

McClenaghan took the key wickets of Graeme Smith and captain AB de Villiers and followed up with two lower order wickets to finish with four for 20 in his ten overs.

Part-time off-spinner Kane Williamson took four for 22 as the South African batsmen failed to master some steady bowling on a slow pitch.

Faf du Plessis made a dogged 57 off 71 balls to top-score for South Africa, while tailender Rory Kleinveldt hit three sixes off four balls from Kyle Mills in making all 26 runs in a last wicket stand with Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Brendon McCullum's decision to send South Africa in to bat paid dividends when the home side's three most experienced batsmen, Smith, Hashim Amla and de Villiers were dismissed within the first 12 overs.

All three senior players were dismissed leg before wicket and paid the penalty for playing across the line on a slow pitch.

Amla was the first to go against the bowling of Mills. He used up South Africa's only available challenge when he sought a review of the decision by umpire Shaun George.

Smith and De Villiers both fell to the impressive McClenaghan, leaving Du Plessis to repair the innings.

He shared partnerships of 46 with Colin Ingram (29), 36 with Quinton de Kock (18) and 59 with Ryan McLaren (33).

James Franklin is the Man of the match for his all rounder show (1-44 and 47*) which helped Blackcaps win a close match.

Brief scores
South Africa
208 (du Plessis 57, McClenaghan 4-20, Williamson 4-22)
New Zealand 209 for 9 (Franklin 47*, Watling 45, McLaren 4-46)
Result New Zealand won by 1 wicket
MOM James Franklin (New Zealand)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links