Scores Upcoming Results
14-Feb-2013 10:55:00 GMT
Bangladesh in Sri Lanka 2013

Mathews Named Sri Lanka Test, ODI Captain

Colombo: Allrounder Angelo Mathews has been appointed Sri Lanka's Test and ODI captain, replacing Mahela Jayawardene, for a period of one year.

The 25-year-old Mathews was Jayawardene's deputy and was the heir apparent to the captaincy since the latter announced that he would be quitting captaincy after Sri Lanka's tour of Australia.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Chandimal will be Mathews' deputy, but will lead the national side in the Twenty20 format.

Lasith Malinga will be the team's vice-captain for T20. The selectors have also named a 20-member pool of players for the two-match home Test series against Bangladesh, starting next month.

Veteran Thilan Samaraweera, opener Tharanga Paranavithana and wicketkeeper Prasanna Jayawardene have been dropped from the squad.

Four uncapped players -- batsmen Kithruwan Vithanage and Ashen Silva, a medium pacer Dushmantha Chameera and off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal -- have been included.

Test squad:

  • Angelo Mathews (capt)
  • Dinesh Chandimal (wk, vice-capt)
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan
  • Dimuth Karunaratne
  • Ashen Silva
  • Kumar Sangakkara
  • Lahiru Thirimanne
  • Mahela Jayawardene
  • Kushal Janith Perera (wk)
  • Jeevan Mendis
  • Kithuruwan Vithanage
  • Ajantha Mendis
  • Suraj Randiv
  • Nuwan Kulasekara
  • Shaminda Eranga
  • Chanaka Welegedera
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Rangana Herath
  • Tharindu Kaushal

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links