Scores Upcoming Results
21-May-2013 18:07:00 GMT
CSK v MI, 1st qualifier, Delhi

Chennai Storm to Record 5th Final

New Delhi: Raina and Hussey hammered half-centuries while Jadeja and Bravo picked 3 wickets apiece as Chennai crushed Mumbai by 48 runs to cruise to their fifth final in six editions of the Indian T20 League. This is CSK forth successive final.

193 was a huge target but when Dwayne Smith was going crazy, it looked like Mumbai would run away with it.

One stage Mumbai were 86/1 in 8 overs but Ravindra Jadeja changed it all. He removed Smith in his very first over and followed it up with two more, including the crucial one of Pollard's. When Jadeja finished his spell, Mumbai were 127/5 in 15 overs.

The rest was just a formality and Chennai helped themselves to a huge win.

Dwayne Smith reached his half-ton in just 21 balls to keep Mumbai Indian in hunt after they lost opener Aditya Tare early in their chase of 193. Smith got his half-ton with the help of four sixes and five boundaries.

Mumbai got off to poor start as they lost opener Aditya Tare in the second over with just 12 runs on board.

Earlier, Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina took the Mumbai Indians attack to the cleaners as Chennai Super Kings posted a mammoth 192 for 1.

Hussey, delighted the sell-out crowd with his amazing array of strokes as he scored an unbeaten 86 off 58 balls with the help of 10 boundaries and two shots over the fence.

He was ably complemented by the ever-dependable Suresh Raina who smashed his way to a breathtaking 42-ball-82 that had five boundaries and an equal number of huge sixes.

The duo put on astonishing 140 runs for the second wicket in 12.4 overs as CSK put on an imposing total on a low and slow Feroze Shah Kotla track after electing to bat.

Earlier, Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to bat.

Sachin Tendulkar will again miss the game for Mumbai as he is yet to recover from a sprain in his hand.

They have brought in Dwayne Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Munaf Patel and Prgyan Ojha, leaving out Glenn Maxwell, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rishi Dhawan and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

There is only change for Chennai with Albie Morkel taking place of Jason Holder.


Chennai Super Kings:
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain & wk), Mike Hussey, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, S Badrinath, Chris Morris, R Ashwin, Albie Morkel and Mohit Sharma.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Dwayne Smith, Aditya Tare, Amabti Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Kieron Pollard, Mitchel Johnson, Harbhajan Singh, Munaf Patel, Lasith Malinga and Pragyan Ojha

Brief scores
Chennai Super Kings
192/1 (Hussey 86*, Raina 82*)
Mumbai Indians 144 (Smith 68, Bravo 3-9, Jadeja 3-31)
Result Chennai Super Kings won by 48 runs
MOM: Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links