Scores Upcoming Results
26-May-2013 18:26:00 GMT
Ireland v Pakistan, 2nd ODI, Dublin

Ireland Suffer Defeat by Pakistan

Dublin: Ireland suffered a heartbreaking two-wicket defeat at the hands of Pakistan in the second one-day international between the sides at Clontarf.

Ed Joyce scored an unbeaten 116 as the Irish accumulated 229-9 off 50 overs.

Pakistan collapsed to 17-4 early in their innings but rallied with the help of Kamran Akmal, who scored 81, and Wahab Riaz, who ended on 47 not out.

Ireland will be disappointed to have squandered such a strong position, having tied the first game on Thursday.

The result leaves the Irish still searching for their first victory over a Test playing nation on home soil.

Pakistan won the toss and their decision to field appeared justified as they reduced Ireland to 4-2.

Captain William Porterfield was out for one, while his opening partner Paul Stirling, who scored a century on Thursday, returned to the pavilion with a duck.

Joyce salvaged the Irish innings as he hit 12 fours and a six in his score of 116 off 132 balls, to follow Eoin Morgan as only the second player to score a century for different countries in a one-day international.

Joyce's fifth-wicket partnership with Kevin O'Brien, who contributed 38, gave the Irish a major boost.

Abdul Rehman was the pick of the Pakistani bowlers with figures of 4-48 while Junaid Khan returned 2-59.

In reply, the visitors were in serious trouble as their first four batsmen contributed just 11 runs between them.

Kamran Akmal produced the decisive innings, with Wahab Riaz and Shoaib Malik (43) also playing major parts in their side's dramatic revival.

With the match hanging in the balance, Akmal struck 24 off the 47th over bowled by Tim Murtagh, including a six, four fours and a two.

Murtagh, Trent Johnston and Alex Cusack took two wickets apiece while O'Brien and George Dockrell both grabbed one wicket each.

Pakistan win the two-match series then and now move on to England to compete in the Champions' Trophy.

Ireland play Australia A in a four-day friendly international in mid June, before resuming their Intercontinental Cup campaign against the Netherlands in July.

Earlier, Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to field.

Ireland made one change to the team that managed a stunning tie in the first contest of the two-match series on Thursday with 23-year-old James Shannon making his ODI debut and replacing Andrew White.

Pakistan dropped three bowlers -- fast bowlers Mohammad Irfan and Ehsan Adil and offspinner Saeed Ajmal made way for debutante paceman Asad Ali, Wahab Riaz and Abdul Rehman.


Ireland WTS Porterfield (captain), PR Stirling, EC Joyce, NJ O'Brien, GC Wilson (wk), KJ O'Brien, JNK Shannon, AR Cusack, DT Johnston, GH Dockrell, TJ Murtagh

Pakistan Imran Farhat, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Asad Shafiq, Kamran Akmal (wk), Abdur Rehman, Wahab Riaz, Asad Ali, Junaid Khan

Brief scores
229/9 (Joyce 116*, Rehman 4-48)
Pakistan 230/8 (Akmal 81, Riaz 47*, Malik 43)
Result Pakistan won by 2 wickets
MOM Kamran Akmal (Pakistan)
Man of the series Kevin O'Brien (Ireland)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links