Scores Upcoming Results
16-Jun-2013 19:18:00 GMT
Australia v Sri Lanka, Group A, The Oval

Australia Face Must Win Situation Against Sri Lanka

London: Defending champions Australia will have to put David Warner's bar brawl controversy and questions surrounding their team culture behind them when they take on Sri Lanka in their final league fixture here tomorrow to decide the last of the remaining ICC Champions Trophy semifinal places.

It will be a virtual quarterfinal clash between the two sides at Kennington Oval but a lot will depend on the outcome of the Group A match between England and New Zealand in Cardiff to decide the equations.

England already qualify for semifinal by beating New Zealand by 10 runs. NRR could still decide qualification from Group A. If Australia will have to beat Sri Lanka then NRR will decider. But a win will seal Sri Lanka's place in the last four while a defeat will see them go home.

Sri Lanka's recent success against Australia will provide a psychological edge to them -- in the last 10 ODIs played between the two sides, Sri Lanka have won six while they drew the ODI series 2-2 earlier this year in Australia.

Australia have just one point from two games, starting their campaign with a defeat to England and then having their game against New Zealand washed out.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka were skittled out for a paltry 138 against New Zealand in their tournament-opener but a superb bowling show by slinger Lasith Malinga saw them very nearly defend the total before losing by one wicket.

Sri Lankan batsmen, however, gave a better account of themselves in their stunning run chase against England to romp home against the hosts. Led by Kumar Sangakkara's unbeaten 134, they chased down the 294-run victory target with relative ease to keep their semifinal hopes alive.

Teams from:

Sri Lanka:
Angelo Mathews (Capt.), Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne and Dilhara Lokuhettige.

Australia: Michael Clarke (Capt.), David Warner, Shane Watson, George Bailey, Phillip Hughes, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wk), Xavier Doherty, Clint McKay, Glenn Maxwell, Adam Voges and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Match facts
Monday June 17, 2013 (day/night)
Start time 13pm local (1200 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links