Scores Upcoming Results
28-Jul-2013 13:37:00 GMT
Zimbabwe v India, 3rd ODI, Harare

Mishra, Kohli Set up Series Win

Harare: Amit Mishra picked up 4/47 while captain Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 68 as India beat Zimbabwe by seven wickets to clinch the series at Harare Sports Club in Harare on Sunday.

Virat Kohli led from the front yet again and helped India to their 3rd straight win of the tournament. Amit Mishra is the Man of the Match for his 4/47.

Rayudu built a 64-run partnership for the third wicket with skipper Virat Kohli to steady the Indian innings after they lost their openers early.

Rayudu hit a pitched up Vitori delivery straight back to the bowler. Rayudu's knock of 33 runs consisted of 2 fours.

Previously, Tendai Chatara and Michael Chinouya dismissed openers Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma respectively.

Dhawan (35) smashed hard a length ball by Chatara but unfortunately was caught by Vusi Sibanda.

Debutant Chinouya scalped the wicket of Sharma to mark his foray into the international circuit. The batsman fell for 14 runs while chasing a target 184 against Zimbabwe.

Sharma's poor form continued in the series when he edged a widish delivery to the wicket-keeper. It was another failure for the opener who had scored 20 and 1 runs in the previous two ODIs.

Earlier, a disciplined show by the Indian bowlers saw them bowl out Zimbabwe for a paltry 183.

Amit Mishra was the most impressive of the lot, returning figures of 4 for 47, while Sean Williams top-scored for Zimbabwe with 45 off 53 balls.

Vinay Kumar accounted for Vusi Sibanda even before the hosts could open their account, Mohammed Shami sent back the other-wise reliable Sikander Raza when he had the opener caught behind by Dinesh Karthik.

Hamilton Masakadza (38) and skipper Brendan Taylor (23) added 65 runs for the third wicket to stabilise the innings before Jaydev Unadkat struck with the scoreboard reading 67 for three in the 16th over.

The Zimbabwean captain, who stood his ground after Shami leapt to his left from mid-off to pull off a catch, walked back after the third umpire upheld the on-field umpires' decision. Taylor hit three fours during his 44-ball knock.

Coming in to bowl his first over of the match, Mishra tasted success immediately as Masakadza, trying to cut a short of length delivery, edged it to the keeper as the hosts lost their top four batsmen within the first 20 overs. The batsman struck five fours off 53 balls.

Malcolm Waller was out next ball as Mishra had the batsman trapped in front for a golden duck with a googly, leaving the Zimbabweans reeling at 80 for five in the 20th over.

Ravindra Jadeja made it 89 for six as the slow left-arm spinner hit Elton Chigumbura on the pads with one that might have missed the leg stump because of the angle

Williams then added 36 runs for the seventh wicket with Prosper Utseya (10), before the latter was snared by Shami.

Jadeja's flat throw from the square leg did Williams in as the batsman fell short of the crease at the striker's end after battling it out for 79 minutes. Williams hit two fours and a six during his fighting knock.

The Zimbabwe tail wagged before the innings came to an end.

Earlier, India have won the toss and sent Zimbabwe to bat.

Michael Chinouya debut for Zimbabwe, he raplaced Kyle Jarvis. India unchanged.


Zimbabwe: Vusi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (Captain & wk), Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Brian Vitori, Prosper Utseya, Michael Chinouya, Tendai Chatara

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (Captain), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Shami Ahmed, Vinay Kumar, Jaidev Unadkat

Brief scores
183 (Williams 45, Mishra 4-47)
India 187/3 (Kohli 68*)
Result India won by 7 wickets
MOM Amit Mishra (India)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links