Scores Upcoming Results
03-Aug-2013 13:15:00 GMT
Zimbabwe v India, 5th ODI, Bulawayo

India Complete Historical 5-0 Whitewash

Bulawayo: Amit Mishra took (6-48) while Rahane scored a half-century as India thrash Zimbabwe by seven wickets in the 5th ODI fand final ODI at Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo on Saturday.

Ajinkya Rahane notched up 64-ball fifty. Malcolm Waller dismissed Rahane soon after the batsman scored a fifty. Rahane shared 71-run stand with Ravindra Jadeja to put India on course for series whitewash.

Chasing 164-run target, India lost their second wicket in the form of Shikhar Dhawan. Kyle Jarvis struck again to dismiss Dhawan, who made 38-ball 41 with the help of six fours and a six. Dhawan also added 55-run partnership with Ajinkya Rahane for the second wicket.

Jarvis gave India an early blow by removing Cheteshwar Pujara for duck. India were 43/1 in six overs which were bowled before the lunch break.

Earlier, leg-spinner Amit Mishra notched up a career-best six-wicket haul as Indian bowlers once again ripped through Zimbabwe, dismissing them for a paltry 163.

Opting to bowl in chilly conditions, the Indians had the home team on the mat from the very first over. Sean Williams (51) was the only Zimbabwean batsman to put up a semblance of fight before the home team's innings folded in 39.5 overs.

Mishra was the top wicket-taker for the visiting side with six for 48 in 8.5 overs.

Mishra also achieved a record in the process. With 18 wickets in the series, he equalled Javagal Srinath's record for most wickets in a bilateral series.

Srinath took 18 in seven games in New Zealand in 2002-03, while Mishra has taken 18 in five games.

The collapse started pretty early for Zimbabwe with opener Vusi Sibanda (5) getting caught behind the stumps by Dinesh Karthik off Jaydev Unadkat in the fourth over.

His partner Hamilton Masakadza did stay for a while and raised hopes of anchoring the innings before Ravindra Jadeja rattled his stumps. Masakadza struck a 46-ball 32 which included four boundaries.

Next man in skipper, Brendan Taylor, departed without troubling the scorer but consumed 11 balls in the process. He was caught by Suresh Raina at second slip while trying to have a go at Mohit Sharma.

Zimbabwean batsmen's parade back to pavilion continued before Williams tried his bit to stage a fightback. In his 65-ball knock, Williams picked up six boundaries, giving his teammates a lesson in how to deal with the conditions.

But Mishra brought an end to Williams' stiff resistance when the batsman tried to sweep on one knee but ended up gloving it to the first slip.

Mishra had earlier taken the crucial wicket of all-rounder Elton Chigumbura (17) who failed to replicate his half-century performance from the previous match.

Kyle Jarvis (12 not out) and Natsai M'shangwe (16) did their bit to delay the inevitable but the Indians proved simply unstoppable.

Earlier, India have won the toss and opted to field first.

A couple of changes in India squad -- Ajinkya Rahane comes in for Rayudu, Shikhar Dhawan comes in for Rohit Sharma.

Zimbabwe have made four changes. Prosper Utseya, Sikandar Raza, Michael Chinouya and Tendai Chatara are sitting out while Kyle Jarvis, Timycen Maruma, Natsai Mushangwe and Tinotenda Mutombodzi are in.


Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor (Capt. & wk), Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Timycen Maruma, Elton Chigumbura, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Natsai Mushangwe, Brian Vitori, Kyle Jarvis

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Capt.), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Shami Ahmed, Mohit Mahipal Sharma, Jaidev Unadkat

Brief scores
163 (Williams 51, Mishra 6-48)
India 167 for 3 (Rahane 50, Jadeja 48*, Jarvis 2-18)
Result India won by 7 wickets
MOM Amit Mishra (India)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links