Scores Upcoming Results
02-Oct-2013 13:15:00 GMT
Mumbai v Perth, CLT20, Delhi

Rohit, Smith Takes Mumbai into Semis

New Delhi: Skipper Rohit Sharma's slammed a stupendous half-century to lead the Mumbai Indians run chase in the Champions League Twenty20 match at the Feroze Shah Kotla in New Delhi on Wednesday.

Mumbai, chasing 150 to win, need to do it in 14.2 if they are to displace Otago Volts from the top two and move through to the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 semifinals.

Rohit completed his half-century in 23 balls with 3 boundaries and 4 sixes to his credit.

After losing Sachin Tendulkar and Glenn Maxwell early, Dwayne Smith brought Mumbai back into the game before falling short of his half-century.

Smith (48), who hit 5 smashing boundaries and 3 scintillating sixes in his jam-packed innings, was caught brilliantly by Jason Behrendorff off the bowling of Brad Hogg.

Mumbai suffered a huge blow early in their innings when they lost Tendulkar (0) to Behrendorff when the master blaster picked out the fielder on deep-square leg in his attempt to flick a length ball on the leg side.

Soon after, Behrendorff picked up prized wicket of million-dollar man Maxwell (10) by having him caught at short third man by Hogg.

Earlier, some fine bowling by Nathan Coulter-Nile and Pragyan Ojha helped Mumbai Indians restrict Perth Scorchers to 149 for six.

T20 debutant Sam Whiteman scored a quick-fire 32-ball 51, studded with six fours and two sixes, besides putting on a crucial 34-ball 58 run stand for the third wicket with Hilton Cartwright to help Scorchers set Mumbai a 150-run target.

For Mumbai, Coulter-Nile was the pick of the bowlers with figures of three for 19, while Ojha chipped in with two for 17.

The Scorchers began cautiously after they were put in to bat by the Mumbai Indians. Of the two openers, Ashton Agar was the more dominating, while skipper Simon Katich gave him good support at the other end.

The two took their time to counter some tight bowling from Harbhajan Singh and Nathan Coulter-Nile. Agar patiently waited for the loose deliveries to hit boundaries before striking two consecutive fours off a Rishi Dhawan over.

The Scorchers reached 50 in the ninth over with all wickets intact. Even though the bowlers managed to bowl a tight line and length, they failed to take wickets.

It was left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, who gave Mumbai their breakthrough by seeing off both the opening batsmen in his very first over of the match.

Earlier, Mumbai Indians have won the toss and opted to field first.

One change in MI squad -- Glenn Maxwell in for Mitchell Johnson. While Perth also make one change Brad Hogg in.


Mumbai Indians:
Dwayne Smith, Sachin Tendulkar, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rohit Sharma (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pragyan Ojha

Perth Scorchers: Simon Katich (captain), Ashton Agar, Sam Whiteman, Marcus North, Hilton Cartwright, Ashton Turner, Tom Triffitt (wk), Joel Paris, Brad Hogg, Jason Behrendorff, Michael Beer

Brief scores
Perth Scorchers
149 for 6 (Whiteman 51*, Coulter-Nile 3-19, Ojha 2-17)
Mumbai Indians 152 for 4 (Sharma 51*, Smith 48, Hogg 2-26, Behrendorff 2-31)
Result Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets
Points Mumbai Indians 4, Perth Scorchers 0

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links