Scores Upcoming Results
04-Oct-2013 10:40:00 GMT
Mumbai v Trinidad, 2nd semi-final, CLT20, Delhi

Equal Battle Between Mumbai & Trinidad

New Delhi: Two aggressive and in-form sides will clash in a battle of equals when Mumbai Indians face off against West Indian outfit Trinidad and Tobago in the second semifinal of the Champions League Twenty20 on Saturday.

It would be a contest on even keel as both the teams are coming off big wins. While Mumbai thrashed Perth Scorchers by six wickets in 13.2 overs, T&T annihilated two-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings by eight wickets in their respective last league encounters in 15.1 overs.

Both the teams fought their way to the semifinal after being left with no other option but to win their final group matches and they did it in style on October 2 at the Ferozeshah Kotla stadium.

2011 champions Mumbai and T&T seem evenly-matched on paper as both the teams boast of big match-winners in Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Smith, Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul and Darren Bravo.

There is no doubt that the star-studded Mumbai side would do everything in their power to reach the final of the Champions League and give a fitting farewell to their iconic batsman Sachin Tendulkar by lifting the trophy for the second time.

Tendulkar is playing his last Champions League tournament after announcing his retirement from the Indian Premier League this year.

Even though the Mumbai outfit did not get off to an ideal start as they suffered a defeat at the hands of Rajasthan Royals in the opening match before their second tie was washed out, they came back strongly to stamp their authority against the Lions and Scorchers in Group 'A'.

Narine leads the highest wicket-takers tally with eight scalps in the competition.

With short boundaries at the Kotla stadium coupled with a flat deck, a high scoring contest is expected.

Teams from

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Dwayne Smith, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rishi Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Johnson, Pragyan Ojha, Akshar Patel, Abu Nechim and Aditya Tare (wk).

Trinidad & Tobago: Denesh Ramdin (C & Wk), Lendl Simmons, Evin Levis, Darren Bravo, Nicolas Pooran, Navin Stewart, Rayad Emrit, Adrian Barath, Sherwin Ganga, Jason Mohammad, Yannick Ottley, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine and Shannon Gabriel.

Match facts
Saturday October 5, 2013 (day/night)
Start time 2000 local (1430 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links