Scores Upcoming Results
05-Oct-2013 17:45:00 GMT
Mumbai v Trinidad, 2nd semi-final, CLT20, Delhi

All-round Mumbai Storm to Final

New Delhi: Mumbai reached the final of the World T20 League for the second time after Smith (59) and Tendulkar (35) helped the Indian T20 League champs crush T&T by six wickets in the semi-final.

Rohit Sharma and Dinesh Karthik played sensibly to resurrect Mumbai Indians after losing three quick wickets against Trinidad and Tobago in the second semifinal of the Champions League Twenty20 at Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi.

Mumbai Indians found themselves in spot of bother as they lost Sachin Tendulkar, Ambati Rayudu and Dwayne Smith in quick succession.

Mumbai got off to rollicking start with 90-run stand by openers Smith and Tendulkar that laid the foundation for IPL outfit.

Lendl Simmons gave Trinidad a first breakthrough by dismissing Tendulkar, who made a fine 35 off 31 with the help of two fours and as many sixes.

Smith hammered Trinidad bowlers all over the park as he notched up 33-ball fifty to, studded with six fours and two sixes.

Sunil Narine led the T&T fightback with double strike as he removed Ambati Rayudu and Dwayne Smith to leave Mumbai struggling 96/3 in 12 overs.

Meanwhile, master blaster Tendulkar achieved another milestone by reaching 50000 runs in all forms of recognised cricket.

Sachin was in his elements today, smashing back-to-back sixes off Yannick Ottley to keep Mumbai on track in the chase.

Earlier, opener Evin Lewis hit a quick-fire half century while Yannick Ottley struck a fine unbeaten 41 as Trinidad and Tobago posted a competitive 153 for five against Mumbai Indians.

Lewis struck a 46-ball 62, innings that was studded with four sixes and six fours, while Ottley's 30-ball 41 was decorated with two sixes and an equal number of fours as T&T managed to cross the 150-run barrier after being put in to bat at the Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium.

MI bowlers did well in the middle part of the innings to pull things back after Lewis' knock threatened to take the game away from the former champions.

Earlier, Mumbai have won the toss and opted to field first.

One change in MI as Mithcell Johnson comes in for Glenn Maxwell. T&T unchanged.


Mumbai Indians:
Dwayne Smith, Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma (Capt.), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishi Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Johnson, Pragyan Ojha

Trinidad and Tobago: Lendl Simmons, Evin Lewis, Darren Bravo, Yannick Ottley, Nicolas Pooran, Denesh Ramdin (Capt. & wk), Sunil Narine, Rayad Emrit, Navin Stewart, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree

Brief scores
Trinidad & Tobago
153 for 5 (Lewis 62, Ottley 41*)
Mumbai Indians 157 for 4 (Smith 59, Tendulkar 35, Karthik 33*, Narine 3-17)
Result Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links