Scores Upcoming Results
15-Nov-2013 20:39:00 GMT
Pakistan v South Africa, 2nd T20, Dubai

Du Plessis, Bowlers Secure Series

Dubai: South Africa sparked another Pakistan batting collapse to win the second Twenty20 international by six runs in Dubai on Friday, taking the two-match series 2-0.

It was another batting failure for Pakistan, who, chasing 151, were cruising along nicely at 101-3 in the 14th over before being restricted to 144-9 in their 20 overs.

Paceman Wayne Parnell took 3-25 while leg-spinner Imran Tahir claimed 2-21 and spearhead Dale Steyn finished with 2-20 to rock Pakistan who lost seven wickets in the space of 43 runs.

Sohaib Maqsood top-scored with 37 while Shahid Afridi (14) tried valiantly but failed in the end.

Pakistan lost Ahmed Shehzad (21) and Mohammad Hafeez (nought) in quick succession but Maqsood carried on in style, hitting two boundaries and a six off 26 balls before Pakistan lost three wickets at 112.

Tahir bowled Shoaib Malik (15)and Abdul Razzaq (nought) off successive deliveries while Quinton de Kock held a smart catch off Parnell to dismiss Maqsood as Pakistan slump from 112-4 to 112-7.

South Africa won the first match by nine wickets on Wednesday. South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis hailed his team's comeback.

Pakistan captain Mohammad Hafeez bemoaned his team's inability to see out matches.

South Africa rode on Du Plessis's 48-ball 58 not out and a sedate 41-ball 48 by Hashim Amla, who lifted the innings during their 78-run second wicket stand after they won the toss and batted.

De Kock chipped in with a quickfire 19-ball 30, studded with six boundaries to give his team a rapid start.

Off-spinner Saeed Ajmal pulled things back for Pakistan by dismissing De Kock and Amla.

Amla hit two sixes and three boundaries before he holed out on Ajmal. Du Plessis held one end intact, hitting three sixes and one boundary to lift South Africa to their highest Twenty20 total against Pakistan, beating the 142-9 they made at Nottingham in 2009.

South Africa tied the two-Test series 1-1 on the tour.

Earlier, South Africa have won the toss and opted to bat.

One change in Pakistan squad -- Nasir Jamshed is in with Abdur Rehman out, while South Africa also made one change -- Davids replaces Duminy, who is rested.


Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal (wk), Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis (capt), AB de Villiers, Henry Davids, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir

Brief scores
South Africa
150 for 5 (du Plessis 58*, Amla 48, Ajmal 3-25)
Pakistan 144 for 9 (Maqsood 37, Parnell 3-25)
Result South Africa won by 6 runs
MOM and Player of the series Faf du Plessis (South Africa)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links