Scores Upcoming Results
01-Mar-2014 16:30:00 GMT
South Africa v Australia, 3rd Test, Cape Town

Warner, Clarke Put Australia in Control

Cape Town: David Warner thumped a run-a-ball century as Australia dominated the opening day of the third and final test against South Africa, piling up 331 for three at Newlands on Saturday.

The wicket was flat and the tourists took full advantage after winning the toss and electing to bat.

Warner's 135 punished a wilting South Africa attack that lost Dale Steyn after lunch when the world's top test bowler limped off complaining of pain in his right hamstring.

He will be assessed on Sunday to see if he can continue bowling in the innings.

Captain Michael Clarke (92 not out) and Steve Smith (50 not out) put on 114 for the fourth wicket and will resume on the second morning as they seek to bat the home team out of the match.

Warner, who raised the ire of South Africans after the second test in Port Elizabeth by suggesting they had tampered with the ball, smashed 12 fours and a six in his 152-ball stay at the crease.

He recorded his seventh ton before falling to a catch behind by wicketkeeper AB de Villiers off spinner JP Duminy.

Paceman Steyn had picked up the first wicket, having opener Chris Rogers (25) caught at second slip by skipper Graeme Smith.

Alex Doolan then made a patient 20 off 66 deliveries before losing his cool as he tried to pull Vernon Philander, spooning a catch to Steyn at mid-on.

Only Morne Morkel with his steep bounce troubled the Australian batsmen, especially Clarke.

Morkel hit him on the elbow, gloves and the back of the helmet during a spell of ferocious fast bowling.

Earlier, Australia have won the toss and opted to bat first.

A couple of changes in Australia squad -- Shaun Marsh and Peter Siddle make way for Shane Watson and James Pattinson. And South Africa also made two changes -- Alviro Petersen in for Quinton de Kock and Kyle Abbott in for Wayne Parnell.


South Africa:
Graeme Smith (Capt.), Alviro Petersen, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (wk), Jean-Paul Duminy, Vernon Philander, Kyle Abbott, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel

Australia: Chris Rogers, David Warner, Shane Watson, Alex Doolan, Michael Clarke (Capt.), Steven Smith, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon

Brief scores
331 for 3 (Warner 135, Clarke 92*, Smith 50*)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links