Scores Upcoming Results
16-Mar-2014 16:40:00 GMT
Hong Kong v Nepal, World T20, Group A, Chittagong

Malla and Spinners Set up Massive Win

Chittagong: Nepal marked their arrival on the international cricket stage with a massive 80-run win over fellow newcomers Hong Kong in a preliminary group match at the World Twenty20 Sunday.

Nepal hammered 149-8 after being sent into bat and then bowled Hong Kong out for just 69 in 17 overs in the day-night match at Chittagong's Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium.

The memorable group A win was set up by skipper Paras Khadka and Gyanendra Malla, who put on 80 for the third wicket after Nepal were reduced to 36-2 in 5.1 overs.

Khadka hit a 37-ball 41, while Malla made 48 off 41 balls with four boundaries and a six.

Nepal lost four wickets off the last four deliveries of the innings -- two of them run out -- which denied them a bigger total.

But even the 150-run target proved too stiff for Hong Kong after the inspirational Khadka had opener Irfan Ahmed caught behind with the first ball of the innings.

Hong Kong suffered a dramatic middle order collapse, losing four wickets in eight balls at the same score of 58.

The innings was wrecked by Nepal's two left-arm spinners, with Shakti Gauchan claiming three wickets for nine runs and Basant Regmi taking three for 14.

Babar Hayat top-scored for Hong Kong with 20, but eight batsmen failed to reach double figures against the steady Nepalese attack.

Hosts Bangladesh had thumped Afghanistan by nine wickets in the group A tournament opener in Dhaka earlier on Sunday.

Earlier, Hong Kong have won the toss and they have decided to bowl.


Hong Kong:
Waqas Barkat, Irfan Ahmed, James Atkinson (capt. & wk), Babar Hayat, Mark Chapman, Nizakat Khan, Tanwir Afzal, Aizaz Khan, Najeeb Amar, Haseeb Amjad, Nadeem Ahmed, Ehsan Nawaz, Roy Lamsam, Munir Dar, Kinchit Shah

Nepal: Subash Khakurel (wk), Sagar Pun, Gyanendra Malla, Paras Khadka (capt.), Binod Bhandari, Sharad Vesawkar, Naresh Bahadur Budayair, Basant Regmi, Shakti Prasad Gauchan, Sompal Kami, Jitendra Mukhiya, Pradeep Singh Airee, Avinash Karn, Rahul Vishwakarma, Amrit Bhattarai

Brief scores
Nepal -
149/8 (Malla 48, Khadka 41, Haseeb Amjad 3-25)
Hong Kong - 69 (Gauchan 3-9, Regmi 3-14)
Result - Nepal won by 80 runs
Points - Nepal 2, Hong Kong 0
MOM - Shakti Gauchan (Nepal)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links