Scores Upcoming Results
18-Mar-2014 16:45:00 GMT
Bangladesh v Nepal, World T20, Group A, Chittagong

Bangladesh Deliver Convincing Win

Chittagong- Bangladesh put in a clinical performance to defeat new-comers Nepal by eight wickets in the World Twenty20 in Chittagong on Tuesday.

The hosts, who fielded after winning the toss, kept Nepal down to 126-5 in their 20 overs before reaching the modest target in 15.3 overs.

Opener Anamul Haque scored a 33-ball 42 with five boundaries and two sixes and shared an opening stand of 63 with Tamim Iqbal (30).

Shakib Al Hasan hit four sixes in his 37 not out and Sabbir Rahman made 21 not out complete the chase.

Earlier, Bangladesh dished out a disciplined bowling effort to restrict Nepal to 126 for five.

Sent into bat, Nepal's innings was initially jolted by pacer Al-Amin Hossain (2-17) who picked up two wickets in the seventh over to reduce the Himalayan nation to 39 for three in 6.3 overs.

After opener Subash Kakhurel's (8) dismissal, Hossain accounted for two wickets -- Sagar Pun (12) and Gyanendra Malla (13) -- in a span of three deliveries to rock Nepal's innings.

But skipper Paras Khadka (41) and Sharad Vesawkar (40) then joined hands and shared 89 runs off 75 balls to lay the foundation for Nepal's score.

Just when it was time to accelerate, Khadka was cleaned up by Mashrafe Mortaza as the batsman went for cheeky sweep.

Towards the end, new man Binod Bhandari did not help his side's cause as he wasted five deliveries without adding a run to Nepal's total.

Apart from Hossain, Mortaza (1/23) and medium pacer Farhad Reza (1/27) scalped one wicket apiece for Bangladesh.

Earlier, Mushfiqur Rahim has won the toss and opted to bowl.

Both teams are unchanged from their previous games.


Bangladesh -
Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Capt. & wk), Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Farhad Reza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Al-Amin Hossain, Abdur Razzak

Nepal - Subash Khakurel (wk), Sagar Pun, Gyanendra Malla, Paras Khadka (capt.), Binod Bhandari, Sharad Vesawkar, Naresh Bahadur Budayair, Basant Regmi, Shakti Prasad Gauchan, Sompal Kami, Jitendra Mukhiya, Pradeep Singh Airee, Avinash Karn, Rahul Vishwakarma, Amrit Bhattarai

Brief scores
Nepal -
126/5 (Khadka 41, Vesawkar 40)
Bangladesh - 132/2 (Anamul Haque 42, Shakib 37*, Tamim Iqbal 30)
Result - Bangladesh won by 8 wickets
Points - Bangladesh 2, Nepal 0
MOM - Al-Amin Hossain (Bangladesh)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links