Scores Upcoming Results
05-Apr-2014 09:10:00 GMT
India v Sri Lanka, World T20, final, Mirpur

A Farewell T20 Final For Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara

Dhaka - Sri Lanka face a daunting test of nerves from dominant India in Sunday's all-Asian World Twenty20 final in Dhaka that is rich with incentives for both the teams. This will be last T20 international game for Sri Lanka legend Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.

If Mahendra Singh Dhoni's Indians win, they will become the first team to hold all three major limited-overs titles, having won the 50-over World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy last year.

Sri Lanka will seek an end to an inexplicable losing streak in title matches, after being beaten twice in World Cup finals in 2007 and 2011 and the World Twenty20 finals in 2009 and 2012.

Sri Lanka's English coach Paul Farbrace said past results counted for little in T20 games and pointed to his team's victory in the Asia Cup one-day tournament in Dhaka last month as a turning point.

Sri Lanka reached Sunday's final with a 27-run win over defending champions West Indies through the Duckworth-Lewis calculations in a rain-hit semifinal on Thursday.

The West Indies, chasing Sri Lanka's 160/6, were 80/4 in 13.5 overs when a heavy downpour forced the match to be abandoned at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium in Dhaka.

It was undecided if Sri Lanka's T20 captain Dinesh Chandimal will again opt out of the final, as he did on Thursday, to allow the winning combination to stay with pace bowler Lasith Malinga at the helm.

India have enjoyed an amazing run in the tournament, winning all four Super-10 league matches before beating South Africa by six wickets with five deliveries to spare in Friday's semifinal.

Virat Kohli smashed an unbeaten 72 off 44 balls as India chased down South Africa's challenging 172/4, making the prolific right-hander the tournament's leading scorer with 242 runs from five games.

India have also been served well by opener Rohit Sharma, whose 171 runs are far ahead of the 134 runs compiled by Sri Lanka's top-scorer Jayawardene.

India also has the bowling edge with off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin's 10 wickets and leg-spinner Amit Mishra's nine outshining Sri Lankan seamer Nuwan Kulasekara (7) and left-arm spinner Rangana Herath (5).

Teams from

India -
MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Stuart Binny, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra and Varun Aaron.

Sri Lanka - Dinesh Chandimal (Capt.), Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga (vc), Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Sachithra Senanayake, Chaturanga de Silva and Suranga Lakmal

Stats & trivia

  • Yuvraj Singh need 43 runs to become first Indian reached 1000 runs in T20 international.
  • A fitting farewell to veterans Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene in their last T20 international game.

Match facts
Sunday April 6, 2014 (day/night)
Start time 1900 local (1300 GMT, 6:30pm IST & SLST)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links