Scores Upcoming Results
06-Apr-2014 16:40:00 GMT
India v Sri Lanka, World T20, final, Mirpur

Brilliant Sangakkara Guides Sri Lanka to World T20 Trophy

Dhaka - Sri Lanka rode on a brilliant show by their bowlers and an outstanding knock by Kumar Sangakkara to thrash India by six wickets and clinch their maiden ICC World T20 title at the Shere Bangla National stadium.

Sangakkara slammed an unbeaten 52 to chase down 131-run target with 13 balls to spare.

Earlier, Virat Kohli continued his stupendous form with a classy 77 but India managed a below-par total as Sri Lanka bowled brilliantly in the death overs.

Kohli struck his fourth half century of the tournament with yet another superb effort but Lankan bowlers applied brakes on a struggling Yuvraj Singh which certainly hampered the scoring rate to a large extent.

Kohli struck five fours and four sixes in his 58-ball knock as Yuvraj turned out to be a complete disaster as he looked completely out of sorts which even frustrated the in-form batsman at the other end. The last four overs produced only 19 runs due to Yuvraj's failure to get big hits.

While Kohli peppered all parts of the field with his blazing blade, Yuvraj found it difficult to even pick up Sachithra Senanayeke's 'doosra' and Lasith Malinga's blockhole deliveries. His struggle became so apparent that even Kohli's anger was palpable at the other end as the hero of 2007 triumph consumed delivery after delivery.

Rangana Herath (1/23) and Angelo Mathews (1/25) gave away only 48 runs in the eight overs as it became a Kohli versus Sri Lanka duel. Even Nuwan Kulasekara (1/29) had a decent day in office despite 16 coming off his one over.

When Yuvraj was finally out for 11 off 21 balls as he holed out in the deep, the loudest cheer came from the Indian fans, who were relieved to see him back in the dug-out.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni came in with only 11 deliveries left and found it difficult to accelerate the pace of scoring as Malinga and Kulasekara bowled the yorkers.

Ajinkya Rahane (3) looked completely shaky during his eight-ball stay at the crease. Angelo Mathews pitched it on length and the opener played it early trying to pull it and was played on.

Kohli entered the crease twirling his bat as Vivian Richards used to do during his playing days.

He clipped Kulasekara's inswinging half volley through the deep mid-wicket region for a boundary. Rohit got his first boundary when Senanayeke couldn't pitch the carrom ball properly as he pulled it towards square leg for a one bounce four.

Earlier, Sri Lanka have won the toss and opted to bowl.

Sri Lanka have made one change -- Thisara Perera in for Seekkuge Prasanna, while India unchanged.


- Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma

Sri Lanka - Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kushal Janith Perera, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga (Capt.), Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath

Brief scores
India -
130/4 (Kohli 77, Rohit Sharma 29)
Sri Lanka - 132/4 (Sangakkara 52*)
Result - Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets 

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links