Scores Upcoming Results
03-May-2014 18:00:00 GMT
Delhi v Rajasthan, IPL 7, Delhi

Nair Helps Royals to Comfortable Win

Delhi: Superb knock by Karun Nair (73*) as Rajasthan Royals chased down 153 with 9 balls and 7 wickets to spare at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi on Saturday.

During their chase of 153, the youngster stayed in the middle throughout the run-chase and eventually struck the winning runs with nine balls to spare.

Earlier, Quinton de Kock and Murali Vijay opened the innings. The pair started out fluently and punished any loose offerings from the RR bowlers.

Vijay (13) departed in the fifth over with the score on 33. The Daredevils skipper, Kevin Pietersen, walked in next. He was, however, lucky to get a second life – thanks to a bungled run-out call – in the seventh over while he was on three. But fortunately for RR, Pietersen (14) did not stick around to make a big score; he was caught by Steve Smith off the bowling of Pravin Tambe. And three deliveries later, the leg-spinner got rid of the well-set de Kock (43).

With DD on 71 for three, Dinesh Karthik and JP Duminy joined forces. But their liaison did not last long as Faulkner got rid of Karthik (12) in the 16th over. However, Duminy (39) rallied on till the final over, along with Kedar Jadhav (28*), whose 14-ball cameo propelled DD past 150.

While Duminy was dismissed by Kane Richardson, Jadhav remained unbeaten till the end as the Daredevils notched up 152 for five in 20 overs. For RR, Tambe (4-0-25-2) and Faulkner (4-0-26-2) were the top wicket-takers.

In response, the Royals opened their innings with Ajinkya Rahane (12) and Karun Nair. But barely three overs into the run-chase, the diminutive opener was dismissed by Wayne Parnell.

Sanju Samson (34) then walked in at No.3 and struck up an innings-steadying partnership with Nair. The pair added 51 runs for the second wicket, before Karthik stumped him off the bowling of Shahbaz Nadeem. Nair, however, was in sublime form and he continued to lead RR’s charge along with Rajat Bhatia. His onslaught continued even as Bhatia (17) got out in the 15th over.

Earlier, Rajasthan Royals restrict Delhi Daredevils to 152 after opted to field.

DD have made one change -- Rahul Sharma get first match in IPL 7, he replace Laxmi Shukla. And in RR Kulkarni replaces Abdullah.


Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Sanju Samson (wk), Shane Watson (Capt.), Steven Smith, Stuart Binny, Rajat Bhatia, James Faulkner, Dhawal Kulkarni, Kane Richardson, Pravin Tambe

Delhi: Murali Vijay, Quinton de Kock, Kevin Pietersen (Capt.), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Jean-Paul Duminy, Kedar Jadhav, Wayne Parnell, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat, Rahul Shukla

Brief scores
Delhi Daredevils -
152/5 (de Kock 42, Duminy 39)
Rajasthan Royals - 156/3 (Nair 73*, Samson 34)
Result - Rajasthan Royals won by 7 wickets (with 9 balls remaining)
Points - Rajasthan Royals 2, Delhi Daredevils 0

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links