Scores Upcoming Results
24-May-2014 17:50:00 GMT
Knight Riders v Sunrisers, IPL 7, Kolkata

Pathan Power Seals 2nd Spot For Knight Riders

Kolkata Yusuf Pathan hits a brutal 22-ball 72 to help Kolkata Knight Riders won by 4 wickets in 14.2 overs and move to second spot, now KKR face Kings XI Punjab in Qualifier 1 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on Saturday.

KKR needed to chased SRH's 160 in 15.2 overs and they did it with six balls to go.

SRH had themselves to blame as they dropped Pathan twice, on 0 and 15 and the big batsman made them pay big time, scoring 72 off 22 balls with the help of five fours and seven sixes. Srikkanth Anirudh, who replaced Aaron Finch for this game, and Dale Steyn were the culprits, assisting Pathan a great deal.

Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa set the tone for the KKR chase, adding 43 runs before Gambhir chopped one Jason Holder delivery on to his stumps for 28 in the fifth over. Legsppiner Karn Sharma dealt the hosts a second blow when he had Manish Pandey (2) caught by Steyn at long-off.

The KKR innings looked in shambles when Robin Uthappa and Ryan ten Doeschate departed in the 10th over bowled by Karn. While Uthappa (41) found Holder at long-on, ten Doeschate (0) ran himself out. But Pathan rose to the occasion and entertained one and all with his big-hitting prowess. Amidst his pyrotechnics, Shakib Al Hasan's wicket for one was the only blemish.

Earlier, SRH managed to post 160 for 7 on a lively Eden Gardens pitch. SRH had captain Darren Sammy and Holder plenty to thank for some quick runs towards the end that took them to a fighting total.

After being put in to bat by KKR, there were plenty of expectations from the in-form David Warner and when he pulled Morne Morkel for a four off the first ball of the innings, he looked set for another significant contribution. However, Morkel avenged himself off the very next delivery, uprooting Warner's off-stump with a peach of a delivery.

Morkel got plenty of bounce off the deck and made life difficult for Shikhar Dhawan, with several deliveries beating the left-hander neck and crop. Dhawan fortunately survived the assault and soon found his touch back, unleashing a few cuts on the offside.

Dhawan found an able partner in wicketkeeper-batsman Naman Ojha who got two fours off the difficult-to-hit Sunil Narine in the first over the West Indian bowled. Ojha was looking good for a big score but attempted one shot too many, falling to Umesh Yadav for 26 after adding 64 runs with Dhawan.

Scoring slowed down after Ojha's departure as Narine and Shakib bowled a tight spell. It was actually their economical bowling that brought about Dhawan's run-out. Desperate to get quick runs, Dhawan drove one Shakib delivery pretty well and ran straight away expecting at least two runs but to his horror, a diving Pandey brilliantly stopped the ball at cover and threw it back to wicketkeeper Uthappa in a flash. Dhawan (29) was way out of the crease when Uthappa removed the bails.

Venugopal Rao and Darren Sammy rode their luck - both were dropped once by Narine and Yusuf Pathan respectively - adding 32 runs off 16 balls before Rao ran himself out for 27. Anirudh was sent back by Shakib as Uthappa stumped him for 3.

With a light drizzle encompassing the stadium, Sammy (29) and Holder (16) exploded, adding a quick 28 to brighten things up for their team. The 19th over bowled by Yadav yielded 17 runs.

Earlier, KKR won the toss and elected to field first. 

KKR playing with the same XI. Sunrisers have made two changes -- Aaron Finch and Irfan Pathan are out, Jason Holder and Anirudh Srikanth are in.


Kolkata: Gautam Gambhir (Capt.), Robin Uthappa (wk), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Morne Morkel, Ryan ten Doeschate, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar

Shikhar Dhawan, David Warner, Naman Ojha (wk), Darren Sammy (Capt.), Venugopal Rao, Srikkanth Anirudha, Karn Sharma, Dale Steyn, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Parvez Rasool, Jason Holder

Brief scores
Hyderabad -
160/7 (Sammy 29, Dhawan 29)
Kolkata - 161/6 (Pathan 72, Uthappa 42, Sharma 4-38)
Result - Kolkata Knight Riders won by 4 wickets
Points - Kolkata Knight Riders 2, Sunrisers Hyderabad 0

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links