Scores Upcoming Results
25-May-2014 13:35:00 GMT
Punjab v Delhi, 55th Match, IPL 7, Mohali

Daredevils Stare at 9th Straight Defeat

Chandigarh: The KXIP bowlers did superbly to bowl out Delhi Daredevils for just 115. In respnose, they reached target with 6.1 overs to spare at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali on Sunday.

DD began their defense of the small target strongly with two early wickets in the form of Virender Sehwag (9) and Glenn Maxwell (0). Sehwag fell to Mohammed Shami after edging one to wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik while Maxwell miscued a pull off Jaydev Unadkat to offer Pietersen a simple catch at mid-off.

However, that was one of the few joyful moments for DD as the pair of Manan Vohra (47) and David Miller (47*) steered them to their 11th victory. With two wickets down for 20 runs, Miller launched Shami for a six over mid-off and then ended the over with a four to ease the early pressure.

Vohra smoked Jimmy Neesham for two fours and a six in the next over. Following those two big overs, the equation was reduced to 68 from 84 deliveries and for KXIP, it was a walk in the park as they completed the formality in with 37 deliveries to spare.

Earlier, DD were bowled out for 115 with their captain Kevin Pietersen top scoring with 58.

Put into bat, DD lost the wicket of opening batsman Mayank Agarwal (2) early as he stayed rooted to his crease while chasing an angled delivery from Mitchell Johnson that went into the hands of Virender Sehwag at slips.

Dinesh Karthik walked in after the early blow and got off to a promising start with a cut off his first delivery through point for a boundary. He ended the Johnson over with a flick for another four as he looked in ominous touch.

At 43/1 after five overs, DD were off to a promising start but then the final over of the Powerplay changed it all. Awana, who was hit for two boundaries in his second over, gave DD double blows removing Karthik (13) and then Kedar Jadhav for a four-ball duck in his third.

DD never recovered from those blows as they kept losing wickets regularly. Manoj Tiwary was run out after a mix-up with Pietersen, Duminy (8) top edged Karanveer Singh to Akshar Patel at covers while Pietersen (58) fell to a dubious decision after being adjudged lbw off Dhawan.

He was the sixth DD batsman to be dismissed and after him, it was only a matter of time before KXIP bowled them out for 115 in 18.1 overs. George Bailey used five bowlers against DD with each of them barring Dhawan (1/22) picking two wickets each.

Earlier, George Bailey has won the toss and decided to Kings XI Punjab bowl first.

Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell and Parvinder Awana are back for Kings XI, Hendricks, Balaji and Marsh have been left out.

Daredevils, meanwhile, have brought back Jimmy Neesham, Mayank Agarwal and Mohammed Shami while Murali Vijay, Wayne Parnell and Siddharth Kaul miss the cut.


Virender Sehwag, Manan Vohra, Glenn Maxwell, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), David Miller, George Bailey (Capt.), Akshar Patel, Mitchell Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Karanveer Singh, Parvinder Awana

Delhi: Mayank Agarwal, Kevin Pietersen (Capt.), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Jean-Paul Duminy, Manoj Tiwary, James Neesham, Kedar Jadhav, Imran Tahir, Mohammed Shami, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jaydev Unadkat

Brief scores
Delhi Daredevils -
115 (Pietersen 58)
Kings XI Punjab - 119/3 (Miller 47*, Vohra 47)
Result - Kings XI Punjab won by 7 wicekts
Points - Kings XI Punjab 2, Delhi Daredevils 0

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links