Scores Upcoming Results
25-May-2014 17:56:00 GMT
Mumbai v Rajasthan, 56th match, IPL 7

Anderson Puts Mumbai Indians in Play-offs in Thriller

Mumbai: Corey Anderson made and unbeaten 95 off 44 balls while Aditya Tare hit a crucial six to chase down 190 in 14.4 overs at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Sunday.

Mumbai Indians pip Rajasthan Royals by net run rate. Now MI take on Chennai Super Kings in eliminator at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai on Wednesday.

Anderson was well supported by Ambati Rayudu, who hit 30 off 10 balls. The two shared 81 runs in 31 balls before Rayudu was run out. Aditya Tare hit a first ball six to seal the game for MI.

Lendl Simmons (12) Michael Hussey (22), Rohit Sharma (16), Kieron Pollard (7) hit out to keep MI within the asking rate.

Earlier, Rajasthan Royals have posted 189 for 4.

Put in to bat, RR rode quickfire 57-ball 100-run stand between Sanju Samson (74) and Karun Nair (50) after Shane Watson failed to get a move on and fell for 8 from 18 balls. Samson hit seven fours and three sixes in his 47-ball knock, while, Karun hammered seven fours and two maximums.

The first ten overs produced just 59 runs as RR were finding it tough from 11th over. However, Samson and Karun started to accelerate in the 11th over bowled by leg spinner Shreyas Gopal that went for 19 runs.

Thereafter, the two went after the bowling as MI bowlers were sent for a leather hunt. Late order impetus was provided by Brad Hodge (29 not out from 16 balls) and James Faulkner (23 from 12 balls).

Earlier, Mumbai Indians have won the toss and have opted to field.

One change for MI -- Corey Anderson in for Marchant de Lange.

RR have made three chnages -- Abhishek Nayar comes in for Stuart Binny, Dhawal Kulkarni in for Vikramjeet Malik and Ankit Sharma comes in for Rahul Tewatia.


Michael Hussey, Lendl Simmons, Rohit Sharma (Capt.), Ambati Rayudu, Corey Anderson, Kieron Pollard, Aditya Tare (wk), Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Gopal

Rajasthan: Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Shane Watson (Capt.), Sanju Samson (wk), Ankit Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Brad Hodge, Kevon Cooper, James Faulkner, Pravin Tambe, Dhawal Kulkarni

Brief scores
Rajasthan Royals -
189/4 (Samson 74, Nair 50)
Mumbai Indians - 195/5 (Anderson 95, Rayudu 30)
Result - Mumbai Indians won by 5 wickets
Points - Mumbai Indians 2, Rajasthan Royals 0

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links