Scores Upcoming Results
30-May-2014 18:24:00 GMT
Chennai v Punjab, qualifier 2, IPL 7, Mumbai

Sehwag Blitz Make Maiden IPL Final

Mumbai: Virender Sehwag rolled back the years with a joyously punchy 58-ball 122 to power Kings XI Punjab to 226 for 6, a total that proved enough to seal their passage to the IPL final for the first time in seven seasons.

Needing to achieve the highest successful chase in Twenty20 history, Chennai Super Kings were given an out-of-this-world start by Suresh Raina, whose 25-ball 87 took the two-time champions to a record 100 for 1 in the Powerplay, but his dismissal cued a slide that left even the game's greatest finisher with too much to do.

KXIP's 24-run win denied CSK their fifth consecutive IPL final and means that the top two teams this season will meet in Sunday's final in Bangalore.

Earlier, Sehwag rolled back the years with a joyously punchy 58-ball 122 to power Kings XI Punjab to 226 for 6.

Starting off with a slashed four past in the first over, Sehwag dominated a century opening stand with Manan Vohra (34). The assault began in the fourth over bowled by Ishwar Pandey, with Sehwag crunching a couple fours in between sixes off the first and last balls by Vohra; it was continued by with three slapped fours by Sehwag off Ashish Nehra in the next over and an uppercut six off Mohit Sharma.

R Ashwin, who had used a post-match interview on Wednesday to warn Glenn Maxwell that he'd operated with an around-the-stumps line, was welcomed into the attack by Sehwag with a six down the ground. Ravindra Jadeja was clubbed over his head for six and then taken for two fours. Sehwag's fifty came off 21 balls with a single.

It took a great catch from Suresh Raina to end the partnership, as Vohra top-edged a pull high into the starry Mumbai sky and was excellently taken in the midwicket region. Entering at 110 for 1 in the 11th over, the stage was set for Maxwell to tee off but he got as far 13 before hitting Ashwin to cow corner.

Luckily for KXIP, that wicket was hardly felt thanks to Sehwag, who collected two more casual sixes down the ground of his Delhi team-mate Nehra, and then reached the landmark in the 16th over, celebrating with a raise of the fists and an endearing grin.

In the 18th over, it was Jadeja's turn to feel the brunt of Sehwag's force, 16 runs coming in three balls with to give the left-arm spinner bruising figures of 0 for 48 in four overs.

Nehra signed off with a superb 19th over that cost just seven and included the wickets of Sehwag, well held by Faf du Plessis at extra cover, and George Bailey but the damage had been done. David Miller made 38 off 19 before he was run out in the 20th over, but the damage had been done.

Earlier, Unchanged CSK have won the toss and have opted to field. One change for KXIP -- Sandeep Sharma in for Rishi Dhawan.


Dwayne Smith, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Brendon McCullum, David Hussey, MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, Ashish Nehra

Punjab: Virender Sehwag, Manan Vohra, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, George Bailey (Capt.), Akshar Patel, Mitchell Johnson, Karanveer Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Parvinder Awana

Brief scores
Kings XI Punjab -
226/6 (Sehwag 122, Miller 38, Vohra 34, Nehra 2-51)
Chennai Super Kings - 202/7 (Raina 87, Dhoni 42*, Awana 4-59)
Result - Kings XI Punjab won by 24 runs

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links