Scores Upcoming Results
14-Nov-2014 11:06:00 GMT
ICC Awards

Mitchell Johnson Claims top ICC Awards

New Delhi: Australian pace bowler Mitchell Johnson has bagged the two most prestigious ICC player awards for the 2013-14 season, winning Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year.

In seven Tests during the period under consideration - August 26, 2013 to September 17, 2014 - Johnson took 59 wickets at an average of 15.32, with a best of 7/40 against England at Adelaide Oval in December.

The 33-year-old was chosen for the Sir Garfield Trophy, the ICC's top accolade, ahead of AB de Villiers and the Sri Lankan pair of Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews.

"Some of the greats of the game have been nominated and won this award and it's a very special honour," said Johnson. "Aggressive fast bowlers are something you'd have seen back in the day with the likes of Dennis Lillee and Jeff Thomson.

South African captain AB de Villiers won the ODI Cricketer of the Year award for his sparkling performances in the last year, beating team-mates Dale Steyn and Quinton de Kock as well as India's Virat Kohli. De Villiers scored 963 runs at an average of 60.18 and strike-rate of 111.21 from 16 innings.

Since the inception of the award in 2004, Johnson is the second player after Ricky Ponting to win the ICC Cricketer of the Year Trophy twice. Johnson won in 2009 and Ponting won in 2006 and 2007.

Rahul Dravid won the inaugural award in 2004 while Jacques Kallis and Andrew Flintoff won the award in 2005. Shivnarine Chanderpaul in 2008, Sachin Tendulkar in 2010, Jonathan Trott in 2011, Kumar Sangakkara in 2012 and Michael Clarke in 2013 are the other winners.

Aaron Finch won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year for his 156 against England in Southampton last year.

The Emerging cricketer of the Yaer was won by England's Gary Ballance while Sarah Taylor won the Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year. Meg Lanning won the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year and Katherine Brunt won the Spirit of the Cricket Award. Preston Mommsen emerged as the Associate Cricketer of the Year.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links