Scores Upcoming Results
01-Dec-2014 17:06:00 GMT
Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, 5th ODI, Mirpur

Debutant Taijul Hat-trick Helps Bangladesh in 5-0 Cleansweep

Dhaka: Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam became the first cricketer to claim a hat-trick on debut in a one-day international as he set up a five-wicket victory for Bangladesh over Zimbabwe on Monday.

The win in Dhaka gave Bangladesh a clean sweep in the five-ODI series.

The whitewash came after the hosts recorded a 3-0 win against the visitors in the preceding Test series. Taijul bowled Tinashe Panyangara in the last ball of his sixth over and returned to trap John Nyumbu leg before and bowl Tendai Chatara in the first two balls of his next over to complete the hat-trick.

Taijul, who finished with 4/11, is only the fourth Bangladeshi to claim a hat-trick in an ODI after Shahadat Hossain, Abdur Razzak and Rubel Hossain. Shakib Al Hasan took the last wicket to return figures of 3/30 as Zimbabwe collapsed after a fine start. They lost their last nine wickets for 33 runs and were dismissed for 128 in 30 overs.

Legspinner Jubair Hossain chipped in with 2/41. Hamilton Masakadza top-scored for Zimbabwe with 52 and shared a 79-run second-wicket stand with Vusimuzi Sibanda (37) -- the only high point in Zimbabwe's innings.

Panyangara and Chatara, who shared the five Bangladeshi wickets that fell, briefly raised the visitors' hopes. But Mahmudullah kept his composure to score an unbeaten 51, guiding Bangladesh to 130/5 in 24.3 overs.

The 28-year old middle-order batsman hit two fours off successive balls from seamer Solomon Mire to seal the rout and bring up his 11th fifty in the process. Sabbir Rahman, 13 not out, supported Mahmudullah after Bangladesh lost their fifth wicket with the score on 93.

Chatara finished with 3/44 while Panyangara claimed 2/49.

Earlier, Zimbabwe have won the toss and opted to bat.

All-rounder, Soumya Sarkar and Taijul Islam make his ODI debut for Bangladesh, Rubel Hossain and Imrul Kayes misses out.

Zimbabwe have made three changes --- dropping Regis Chakabva, Peter Moor and Nevile Madziva. In come offspinner John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara and Sikandara Raza.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza (Capt.), Abul Hasan, Jubair Hossain, Taijul Islam

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor (wk), Elton Chigumbura (Capt.), Solomon Mire, Timycen Maruma, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara, John Nyumbu, Tafadzwa Kamungozi

Brief scores
Zimbabwe -
128 (Masakadza 52, Taijul 4-11, Shakib 3-30)
Bangladesh - 130 for 5 (Mahmudullah 51*, Chatara 3-44)
Result - Bangladesh won by 5 wickets
MOM - Taijul Islam (Bangladesh)
Player of the series - Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links