Scores Upcoming Results
18-May-2015 04:38:00 GMT
ICC World T20 Qualifier 2015

ICC Announces Schedule of ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015

Dubai: 14 sides to go head to head in Ireland and Scotland for six available places in ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) 14-May announced the schedule of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, which will be staged across eight Ireland and Scotland venues from 9 to 26 July.
The top six sides from the 18-day tournament during which 51 matches will be played, will join the 10 Full Members for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016, which will be held from 11 March to 3 April 2016.
In the July tournament, Ireland will also aim to complete a hat-trick of titles after it won the March 2012 and November 2013 qualifiers, both times defeating Afghanistan in the final.
Afghanistan had taken the top honours in the February 2010 tournament, while Ireland and Netherlands shared the trophy in August 2009 in Belfast after the final was washed-out.
Both Ireland and Afghanistan are in different groups. Ireland is joined in Group A by Nepal, Hong Kong, Jersey Papua New Guinea (PNG), Namibia and United States of America (USA), while Pool B includes Canada, Netherlands, Scotland, Kenya, Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) apart from Afghanistan.
According to the format of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, the sides that top the two groups will automatically qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016, while the sides that finish second and third in each of the two groups will play cross-over matches with the two winners joining the table-toppers for the India tournament.
The losing sides of the two play-off matches will then play the fourth-placed sides from each of the two groups in cross-over matches with the winners completing the 16-team line-up for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.
The fifth-sixth and third-fourth position play-offs as well as the final will be played on the last three days of the tournament based on which these teams’ seeding/groupings for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 will be confirmed.
Malahide in Dublin and The Grange in Edinburgh will be the two broadcast venues. However, broadcast details of the ICC Word Twenty20 2015 will be announced closer to the start of the tournament.
The two groups are:
Group A: A1 – Ireland, A2 – Nepal, A3 – Hong Kong, A4 – PNG, A5 – Namibia, A6 – USA, A7 – Jersey
Group B: B1 - Afghanistan, B2 – UAE, B3 – Netherlands, B4 – Scotland, B5 – Canada, B6 – Kenya, B7 – Oman

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links