Scores Upcoming Results
29-Mar-2016 09:11:00 GMT
New Zealand v England, 1st semi-final, Delhi

England Take on Inform New Zealand Spinners

New Delhi: England hope in-form batsman Joe Root and "home" advantage can make the difference against undefeated New Zealand in the first World Twenty20 semi-final on Wednesday.

Eoin Morgan's team will be playing their third match in a row in New Delhi, but for the nomadic Black Caps it will be their fifth different venue in five tournament matches.

The Kiwis have won the toss, batted first and used their spin bowlers to great effect to defend totals in all four of their group matches.

Root (168) as second highest run scores in the World T20 2015 after Virat Kohli, which included a match-winning 83 against South Africa.

His classy knock against the Proteas fired England to a successful record chase of 230 and got their bid for a second World T20 title back on track after an opening-match defeat to the West Indies.

The 2010 champions then squeaked past minnows Afghanistan and defending champions Sri Lanka to finish second in Group One on six points behind the West Indies.

England were reduced to 85 for 7 against Afghanistan before eventually winning by 15 runs and then Angelo Mathews' valiant 73 almost saw England come unstuck in a nervous 10-run triumph over Sri Lanka.

New Zealand, who were unfancied coming into the tournament following the retirement of former captain Brendon McCullum, haven't put a foot wrong on their travels since stunning favourites India in their first game.

Captain Kane Williamson has deployed his spinners to supreme effect as the Kiwis became the only side to progress unbeaten from the Super 10 stage, despite a schedule that took them to Nagpur, Dharamsala, Mohali and Kolkata.

Spinners Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi have shared 17 wickets as their two most experienced pacemen -- Tim Southee and Trent Boult -- warmed the substitutes' bench.

Teams from

England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler (wk), Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Corey Anderson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Tim Southee

Head to head:

Played - 13, England won: 8, New Zealand won: 4, NR: 1

World T20:
Played - 4, England won: 2, New Zealand won: 2

World T20 Ranking:
New Zealand - Second
England - Fifth

Match facts
Wednesday March 30, 2016 (day/night)
Start time 1900 local (1330 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links