Scores Upcoming Results
04-May-2016 12:18:00 GMT
ICC ratings

Australia Retains Top ODI Position After Annual Update

Dubai: ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 finalists Australia and New Zealand have retained the top two positions on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings following the annual update.

Results from 2012-13 have been dropped, while results from 2014-15 have been reduced to a weighting of 50 per cent.

Australia, which won its fifth World Cup title in Melbourne last year, is now sitting on 124 points after dropping two points to lead New Zealand by 11 points.

South Africa has swapped places with India to move into third position, while the West Indies has exchanged places with Pakistan to push the 1992 World Cup winners out of the top eight.

Other sides to gain following the annual update include sixth-ranked England (103, up two), seventh-ranked Bangladesh (98, up one), eighth-ranked West Indies (88, up two), 10th-ranked Afghanistan (51, up four) and 11th-ranked Zimbabwe (47, up two).

A significant date on the ICC events calendar is 30 September 2017, which is the rankings cut-off date for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. The host, England, and the seven next highest-ranked sides on the ICC ODI Team Rankings on 30 September 2017 will qualify directly for cricket's biggest event, while the bottom four ODI ranked sides will join the top sides from the ICC World Cricket League in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 to fight for the two remaining positions.

ICC World Twenty20 2016 champion West Indies has slipped to third after conceding three points. The main reason for the West Indies' slip is that its results from the 2012-13 season, which includes victory in the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012, have now been dropped.

The West Indies now leads fourth-ranked South Africa by three points, which has broken away from England.

ODI ratings:

  1. Australia (124)            
  2. New Zealand (113)            
  3. South Africa (112)            
  4. India (109)            
  5. Sri Lanka (104)            
  6. England (103)            
  7. Bangladesh (98)            
  8. West Indies (88)            
  9. Pakistan (87)            
  10. Afghanistan (51)            
  11. Zimbabwe (47)            
  12. Ireland (42)

ICC Twenty20 championship

  1. New Zealand (132)            
  2. India (132)            
  3. West Indies (122)            
  4. South Africa (119)            
  5. England (114)            
  6. Australia (110)            
  7. Pakistan (104)            
  8. Sri Lanka (98)            
  9. Afghanistan (78)            
  10. Bangladesh (74)            
  11. Netherlands (67)            
  12. Zimbabwe (58)            
  13. Scotland (57)            
  14. United Arab Emirates (54)            
  15. Ireland (48)            
  16. Oman (37)            
  17. Hong Kong (29)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links