Scores Upcoming Results
20-Oct-2016 16:30:00 GMT
India v New Zealand, 2nd ODI, Delhi

New Zealand win thriller to level series

New Delhi: New Zealand defeated India by six runs in a closely-fought second One-Day International (ODI) at the Ferozeshah Kotla, Delhi on Thursday -- the Kiwis' first win on the current tour of the country.

Kedar Jadhav (41) was the highest scorer for the hosts and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni contributed 39 runs in the team's chase of 243-run target.

For New Zealand, Tim Southee scalped three wickets while Trent Boult and Martin Guptill took two wickets each.

Earlier, India's bowlers restricted New Zealand to 242 for nine after Black Caps skipper Kane Williamson struck a delightful century.

Williamson gave New Zealand a solid platform to eye a big score with his 118 but Indian bowlers Amit Mishra and Jasprit Bumrah claimed three wickets each to stem the total.

India's pace spearhead Umesh Yadav struck on the second delivery of the innings to send New Zealand opener Martin Guptill trudging back to the pavilion for nought.

But Williamson and Latham then rallied to put on 120 runs for the second wicket as the batting duo tackled the Indian bowlers with aplomb.

Williamson led from the front with some assured stroke-making during his 128-ball knock, which was laced with 14 fours and a six.

He made the most of a major let-off when Indian skipper and wicketkeeper MS Dhoni failed to glove a deflection off Axar Patel's bowling. Williamson was on 59.

Latham, who hit 6 fours and a six, played aggressive cricket to thwart the Indian spin and pace attack during his run-a-ball 46.

Off-spinner Kedar Jadhav broke the big stand after being brought into the attack in the 21st over as he got the left-handed Latham trapped lbw.

Medium-pacer Bumrah's triple strike in the final five overs of the innings also hurt the visitors' chances of putting up a challenging total, which had looked possible during Williamson's stay.

With the win, New Zealand squared the five-match series 1-1.

Brief scores
New Zealand -
242 for 9 (Williamson 118, Bumrah 3-35, Mishra 3-60)
India - 236 (Southee 3-52)
Result - New Zealand won by 6 runs

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links