Scores Upcoming Results
22-Dec-2016 06:45:00 GMT
ICC Awards

ICC Test Team of the Year 2015-16 Announced

Dubai: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year. Former Test stalwarts Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten and Kumar Sangakkara selected the sides based on players' performances in the period from 14 September 2015 to 20 September 2016.

England's Alastair Cook has been named as captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year, which includes four Englishmen, three Australians, and a player each from New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

This is the third time Cook has been appointed captain of the Test side, while it the eighth time in nine years that Dale Steyn has been selected. Joe Root, David Warner and Kane Williamson have been chosen for the third successive year.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2016 (in batting order):

  1. David Warner (Australia)
  2. Alastair Cook (England) (captain)   
  3. Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
  4. Joe Root (England)
  5. Adam Voges (Australia)
  6. Jonny Bairstow (England) (wicketkeeper)
  7. Ben Stokes (England)
  8. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  9. Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)
  10. Mitchell Starc (Australia)
  11. Dale Steyn (South Africa)
  12. Steve Smith (Australia) (12th man)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links