Scores Upcoming Results
26-Jan-2017 04:11:00 GMT
South Africa v Sri Lanka 3rd T20I, Cape Town

Dickwella, Prasanna haul Sri Lanka to series victory

Cape Town: Niroshan Dickwella made 68 runs as Sri Lanka beat South Africa by five wickets in Twenty20 international at Newlands on Wendesday to secure their first trophy on South African soil.

Chasing 170 runs in the decisive third match after AB de Villiers had struck 63 on his return to international cricket, Dickwella shared in a 71-run stand with Dhananjaya de Silva (19) before Seekkuge Prasanna's destructive 37 saw Sri Lanka home with one ball to spare.

The visitors clinched the three-match series 2-1 as a result, but were grateful to some poor fielding from the South Africans, who dropped five catches - including three in three balls.

De Villiers had not played an international match since June last year due to an elbow injury, but was soon part of the action after the hosts won the toss and elected to bat.

After Jon-Jon Smuts (19) and Reeza Hendricks (41) put on 36 for the first wicket, De Villiers eased back into the international game with a 35-ball fifty as he put on 71 for the second wicket with Hendricks.

Although South Africa was derailed by the loss of four wickets in four overs, Mangaliso Mosehle's unbeaten 32 from 15 deliveries gave them a strong total of 5-169.

Sri Lanka's reply followed a similar pattern, with Dickwella putting on 36 for the first wicket with Upul Tharanga (20) and then the 71 for the third wicket with De Silva (19).

Imran Tahir pulled the match back in South Africa's favor when he dismissed both Dickwella and De Silva in the same over and recorded figures of 3-18, but Sri Lanka refused to give up.

Prasanna struck three clean sixes in his 16-ball innings to leave 11 runs required from the final over, before allrounder Asela Gunaratne finished the job with two boundaries off fast bowler Dane Paterson.

Brief scores
South Africa -
169 for 5 (de Villiers 63, Hendricks 41, Mosehle 32*)
Sri Lanka - 170 for 5 (Dickwella 68, Prasanna 37*, Tahir 3-18)
Result - Sri Lanka won by five wickets

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links