Live Scores Upcoming Results
13-Feb-2017 08:08:00 GMT
India v Bangladesh, only Test, Hyderabad, day 5

Spinners and Ishant give India a 208-run win

Hyderabad: India completed a convincing win over Bangladesh in the only Test the teams played in Hyderabad after bowling out the visitors for 279 in the second innings.

The win continued India's win run in the home season that has seen them win six consecutive series since the first against Sri Lanka in 2015.

The spin duo of R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were once again the star for India in the bowling department alongwith pace bowler Ishant Sharma who picked up two wickets in quick succession to open up Bangladesh's tail.

Jadeja in particular was devastating to Bangladesh getting the ball to turn and bounce off the rough on the fifth day pitch in Hyderabad.

But Bangladesh did not go down without a fight. Mahmudullah kept Bangladesh's hopes alive before Lunch but he fell after making 64 runs after Lunch.

Bangladesh were 202 for 5 at Lunch and needed 257 runs for a win in Hyderabad. At stumps on day four, India had Bangladesh at 103 for 3 from 35 overs after having set a target of 459.

Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah were the two overnight batsmen for Bangladesh and India began the day with Jadeja bowling the first over. Umesh Yadav shared the attack from the other end. Jadeja exploited the rough on the pitch.

In the fourth over of the day, a good-length delivery from Jadeja kicked off the rough and hit Shakib's gloves and ricocheted off his thigh for a simple catch to Cheteshwar Pujara at short-leg.

India brought Ashwin late into the attack but he wasted no time in picking up a wicket. Fourth ball into the his first over, Ashwin got the wicket of Mushfiqur Rahim, who had tried four attacking shots on the first four balls.

Mushfiqur, who had shared a 56-run stand till then with Mahmudullah, mistimed a shot and threw away his wicket with a soft catch to Jadeja at mid-off. That was Ashwin's third wicket of the second innings.

Brief scores
India -
687 for 6 dec (Kohli 204, Vijay 108, Saha 106*, Islam 3-156) and 159 for 4 dec (Pujara 54*)
Bangladesh - 388 (Mushfiqur 127, Shakib 82, Mehedi 51, Umesh 3-84) and 250 (Mahmudullah 64, Aswhin 4-73, Jadeja 4-78)
Result - India won by 208 runs

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links