Scores Upcoming Results
04-May-2017 01:15:00 GMT
KKR v RPS, 41st match IPL 2017, Kolkata

Tripathi 93 pummels Kolkata; Pune move to third

Kolkata: Young Rahul Tripathi scored 52-ball 93 to help Pune beat formidable Kolkata and close in on playoff spot.

In that time, Rising Pune Supergiant lost Ajinkya Rahane and captain Steve Smith had walked into the middle. He faced a steady stream of deliveries only in the third over and that is when he showed what he is capable of.

In that over, Coulter-Nile, like many of his team mates that would follow, was hit for multiple boundaries and a six.

Tripathi ended up smashing 19 runs off that over and Kolkata Knight Riders, who may got a slight spring in their step when they dismissed Rahane and troubled Smith, drooped their shoulders again.

It was a theme of the night, KKR would take a wicket and find a spring in their step but Tripathi would come on strike and push them back to where they were. But Kolkata kept taking wickets at regular intervals and, had the target they had set been even 10 runs more than 156, Kolkata would have won this match.

But the Pune bowlers ensured that their opponents don’t get away with the game batting first.

The Kolkata batting line up may not be one that boasts of superstar names but has proven to be one of the most effective ones in the tournament this season.

They were missing Robin Uthappa and replacement Sheldon Jackson got his name into the history books by being dismissed via hit-wicket.

Tripathi was dismissed just seven runs short of his century in the penultimate over but he left the two remaining batsmen with a comfortable job.

Dan Christian ensured that RPS went over the line with a boundary.

This win takes Pune to the third place and level on points with Kolkata. It marks an incredible turnaround from the horrid start to the season that they endured.

Brief scores
Kolkata Knight Riders -
155 for 8 (de Grandhomme 36, S Yadav 30*, Sundar 2-18, Unadkat 2-28)
Rising Pune Supergiant - 158 for 6 (Tripathi 93, Woakes 3-18)
Result - Rising Pune Supergiant won by 4 wickets

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links