Live Scores Upcoming Results
21-May-2017 18:29:00 GMT
Ireland v New Zealand, Tri-Series, 5th match, Dublin

Latham lead New Zealand humiliate Ireland

Dublin: In the penultimate match of the Tri-Nation series, New Zealand hammered Ireland by a whopping margin of 190 runs.

Except the toss, nothing clicked for the hosts as their bowlers were hammered all round the park and batsmen faltered in pursuit of 345.

Tom Latham, captaining in his first series in the absence of Kane Williamson, was adjudged the Man of the Match for registering his maiden ODI ton as skipper. He struck a flamboyant 104 (off 111 balls) and set the tone before the Kiwi bowlers rattled the Irishmen inside 40 overs.

Chasing 345, Ireland were never in the race with wickets falling at regular intervals. No player could set the tempo for the innings and paid the price as Ireland folded in 39.3 overs.

William Porterfield was the highest run-scorer with a 50-ball 48 followed by Gary Wilson (30).

Paul Stirling continued his poor run whereas Ed Joyce got start before perishing. Niall O’Brien struggled to get bat on ball and made the long walk back to the hut for a 19-ball 5.

Playing their first game of the tour, Matt Henry and Corey Anderson wreaked havoc of the opposition by dismissing half the side collectively. Scott Kuggeleijn also earned two wickets whereas Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi shared a scalp each.

Earlier, New Zealand were put into bat and smashed the Irish bowlers to post 344 for 6.

Latham notched up his third century and was well supported by Neil Broom and Ross Taylor.

The late onslaught was provided by Santner and Colin Munro (44 off 15 balls) to propel the team score above 300.

This was NZ' third biggest victory on foreign soil in terms of runs. Latham spoke about his side’s all-round show on Sunday by saying, “A pretty clinical performance from us.

New Zealand end the series at the first spot, with one game left versus Bangladesh. On the other hand, Ireland finish at the last spot with no victory.

Brief scores:
New Zealand -
344 for 6 (Latham 104, Taylor 57, Chase 2-69, Young 2-82)
Ireland - 154 (Porterfield 48, Henry 3-36, Anderson 2-15, Kuggeleijn 2-17)
Result - New Zealand won by 190 runs

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links