Scores Upcoming Results
21-May-2017 18:39:00 GMT
RPS v MI, IPL 2017, Final, Hyderabad

Mumbai Clinch Thriller Final; lift 3rd IPL Trophy

Hyderabad: Mumbai Indians clinch last-over thriller against Rising Pune Supergiant by one run and win title for record third time.

However, in their last encounter in the spectacle, Pune failed to end their journey the way they had started. The Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad witnessed Mumbai catch Pune by the throat and strangle the life out of their batters in the death overs, clinching a last-over thriller by a mere run.

Needing 129 in 20 overs, Pune malfunctioned against the resilient, sedate Mumbai who became the first team win the title as many as three times.

Pune required 11 runs in the last over and the ball was handed over to Mitchell Johnson.

The left-arm fast bowler just conceded 9 runs in the last over and also picked up two crucial wickets of Manoj Tiwary and Steve Smith during the course. After losing the two batsmen, Pune required 6 off 2 balls and later 4 off 1.

Daniel christian was on strike and he only managed to get a couple on the last ball to score 128/6 and hand Mumbai a win. Here’s how Twitter reacted on Mumbai’s win in the final match.

A certain thing, however, did not change course. Rohit Sharma, who had featured in three IPL finals and come up victorious in all the contests, tasted another win.

In addition, he became the first captain to win three titles IPL.

The track was slow, with not enough life for the batsmen to extract from.

Mumbai needed the same, and Krunal Pandya led the resurgence. He collected 47 off 38 and added 50 off 35 with Mitchell Johnson for eighth wicket. Nonetheless, Mumbai could post a mere 129-run target, the lowest in IPL.

Smith produced a spectacular direct-hit, Unadkat took catch of the tournament, Daniel Christian emulated Smith: Pune left nothing to chance in the field.

Bowlers performed well in tandem: three of six bowlers conceded less than 5 RPO. To add more to it, the domestic bowlers took 2 for 39 in 10 overs and overseas bowlers 4 for 87 in as many overs.

Brief scores
Mumbai Indians -
129 for 8 (Krunal 47, Unadkat 2-19, Zampa 2-32, Christian 2-34)
Rising Pune Supergiant - 128 for 6 (Smith 51, Rahane 44, Johnson 3-26, Bumrah 2-26)
Result - Mumbai Indians won by 1 run

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links