Live Scores Upcoming Results
02-Oct-2017 04:30:00 GMT
Australia in India 2017-18

India names 15-man squad for Australia T20Is

Nagpur: Shikhar Dhawan, Ashish Nehra and Dinesh Karthik made a return to the Indian Twenty20 International side for the three-match series against Australia, with the selectors including them in a 15-man squad named on Sunday, shortly after India’s One-Day International team had sealed a 4-1 triumph against Australia, and with it a return to the No.1 ranking.

While Karthik last appeared in a T20I for India against Windies in July, Nehra is back after a seven-month break triggered by groin and hamstring injuries he suffered since India's T20I series against England in February.

MS Dhoni was named the designated wicketkeeper, but Karthik is of course a ‘keeper too, though he has played as only a batsman on occasions.

Dhawan missed out on the T20I series in Sri Lanka to be with his ailing mother, and recently skipped the One-Day International series against Australia because of another family emergency, where his wife was going through a surgery.

India T20 squad:
Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik (wk), MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.

Ajinkya Rahane, who made four half-centuries in the ODI series, and Shardul Thakur, who were both part of the T20I squad that beat Sri Lanka in a one-off contest by seven wickets last month, were not considered for this series.

The team, led by Virat Kohli, will take on Australia in three matches, the first of which is scheduled in Ranchi on October 7. Guwahati and Hyderabad will host the remaining two encounters on October 10 and 13 respectively.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links