Scores Upcoming Results
12-Dec-2017 05:26:00 GMT
Zimbabwe in South Africa 2017-18

Zimbabwe name uncapped Muzarabani, Burl for South Africa Test

Harare: Ryan Burl, the left-hand batsman, and Blessing Muzarabani, the medium pacer, were the two uncapped players named in Zimbabwe's 15-man squad for the one-off four-day, day-night Test over Boxing Day in South Africa.

Muzarabani, 21, has played five first-class matches, taking 18 wickets at an average of 18. Burl, 23, has played nine ODIs but is yet to feature in a Test, and has a first-class average of 40.77.

The duo, along with Tendai Chatara, who has featured in seven Tests for Zimbabwe, were the only new faces in the side that lost to the two-match Tests series against Windies (0-1) in October-November.

Muzarabani will join the likes of Christopher Mpofu, Jarvis and Chatara to bolster the pace attack, while Burl will add depth in the batting department.

Zimbabwe squad: Graeme Cremer (capt), Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Regis Chakabva (wk), Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chisoro, Peter Moor, Solomon Mire, Kyle Jarvis, Christopher Mpofu.

Sean Williams, who reportedly has been struggling with an injury, Malcolm Waller, Michael Chinouya and Nyasha Mayavo were excluded from the setup.

Before facing South Africa in the one-off Test in Port Elizabeth, the Graeme Cremer-led side will face Cricket South Africa Invitation XI in a three-day, day-night practice match, starting from December 20.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links