Live Scores Upcoming Results
07-Jan-2018 15:45:00 GMT
Bangladesh tri-series 2018

Bangladesh drop Soumya, Taskin from tri-series

Dhaka: Bangladesh have announced the ODI squad for the first two matches of the tri-series against Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

They have made five changes to their squad which includes the inclusion of Mustafizur Rahman while Taskin Ahmed and Soumya Sarkar, who were a part of the ODI unit in South Africa, have been dropped.

Liton Das, Mominul Haque and Shafiul Islam have been dropped while Anamul Haque, wicketkeeper Mohammad Mithun, Abul Hasan and Sunzamul Islam make the cut.

Nasir Hossian made it to the squad and so did Sabbir Rahman despite the disciplinary issues that earned him a ban.

Soumya’s poor form cost him. He has scored at 24.30 in the last 12 months and the inconsistency was the main reason that led to him getting dropped.

The left-hander played just one ODI in the South Africa tour last October and scored only eight runs.

The tournament starts on January 15.

Bangladesh ODI squad: Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Mohammad Saifufddin, Sunzamul Islam.

Fast bowler Taskin also fared poorly in South Africa, picking up two wickets in three ODIs.

Left-arm fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman returns to the side after missing out on Bangladesh's last one-day series in South Africa with a twisted ankle.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board also sacked Test captain Mushfiqur Rahim and his deputy Tamim Iqbal and replaced them with Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah respectively.

The ODI squad also had no room for batsman Liton Das, who played all three ODIs in South Africa but could score only 41 at 13.66.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links