Scores Upcoming Results
30-Jan-2018 05:27:00 GMT
Ind v Pak, 2nd semi-final, 2018 U19 World Cup

Gill, Porel power India seal spot in final

India Under-19s 272 for 9 (Shubman Gill 102, Musa 4-67, Arshad 3-51) beat Pakistan Under-19s 69 (Porel 4-17) by 203 runs

Christchurch: India saw off Pakistan with ruthless efficiency to seal a massive 203-run victory in the second semi-final of the 2018 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup.

Shubman Gill set things up with an unbeaten 102 that helped India post a mammoth 272/9 after opting to bat, before Ishan Porel’s 4-17 dismantled Pakistan – they were bundled out for 69, their lowest total in ICC U19 CWC history.

Pakistan had a few moments in the first innings, especially with Muhammad Musa (4/67) and Arshad Iqbal (3/51) running through India’s middle order to cause the batsmen a few jitters.

However, Gill’s mesmeric century – he posted his sixth consecutive fifty-plus total in U19 ODIs – was ultimately telling.

The Pakistan batsmen needed something special to seal victory thereafter – their best-ever chase in U19 World Cups, in fact – but appeared daunted by the task that awaited them.

Prithvi Shaw carried on to score a 59-ball 47, but the first to fall was Prithvi, run out unfortunately after attempting a quick single. Three overs later, Manjot’s dismissal by Musa reduced India to 94/2.

Gill came in and took charge after that, virtually ensuring Pakistan were better off just focusing on the other end. It yielded some success, with Arshad Iqbal running through the middle order, dismissing all of Harvik Desai (20), Riyan Parag (2) and Abhishek Sharma (5).

The Indian pacemen proved incredibly hard to handle, zipping and shaping the ball around. Pakistan’s batsmen’s temperament has been suspect all tournament, and today, it was laid bare for all to see.

With Shivam Mavi building pressure from one end with three consecutive maidens, Ishan Porel capitalised at the other – he had all of Zaid Alam (7), Imran Shah (2) and Ali Zaryab (1) dismissed in consecutive overs. Pakistan were 20/3.

The three-time champions will now face Australia - also three-time winners - in the final on Saturday.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links