Scores Upcoming Results
07-Feb-2018 11:27:00 GMT
Ban v SL, 2nd Test, Mirpur

Bangladesh face Sri Lanka Series Decider

Dhaka: After a run-fest in Chittagong, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka head to Mirpur for a series-decider. The opening Test match saw 1,533 runs scored, only 24 out of the possible 40 wickets taken and five centuries and six half-centuries scored, as the batsmen from both sides made hay while the sun shone.

The nature of the first Test means there are plenty of batsmen on both sides feeling in good touch.

Bangladesh's Mominul Haque made scores of 176 and 105, while Sri Lanka's Kusal Mendis (196), Dhananjaya de Silva (173) and Roshen Silva (109) all also made centuries.

Bangladesh have shuffled their pack, leaving out Sunzamul Islam and Rubel Hossain and calling up batsman Sabbir Rahman.

Sri Lanka are still without the injured Angelo Mathews, who is sidelined with a hamstring injury.

Teams from

Sri Lanka:
Dimuth Karunaratne, Dilruwan Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal (c), Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wkt), Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage, Lakshan Sandakan, Kusal Mendis, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Kumara, Danushka Gunathilaka.

Bangladesh: Liton Das (wkt), Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah (c), Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Abdur Razzak, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mosaddek Hossain, Naeem Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Tanbir Hayder.

Pitch and conditions
Having received plenty of criticism for the Chittagong pitch, Bangladesh will surely look to prepare a better surface in Mirpur. Rain won't be a problem, with warm weather and clouds forecast for the duration of the match.

Stats and trivia

  • Bangladesh will take confidence from that fact that they won their last two Test matches at Mirpur - against England and Australia.
  • Sri Lanka have played two Tests at the stadium and won both.
  • One wicket needed by Suranga Lakmal to reach 100 Test wickets.
  • 21 runs needed by Tamim Iqbal to reach 4,000 Test runs while Niroshan Dickwella required 21-run for 1000 runs.

Match facts
8-12 February 2018
Start time 09:30 local (03:30 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links