Scores Upcoming Results
15-Feb-2018 05:08:00 GMT
Ban v SL, 1st T20I, Dhaka

Bangladesh look to bounce back in T20 series

Dhaka: After losing to Sri Lanka in the final of the triangular one-day international series and then losing 1-0 in the two-Test series against the same opponents, Bangladesh have the two-match Twenty20 International series now to re-establish some of their authority.

Coming off a massive 215-run win in a low-scoring second and final Test at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka, Sri Lanka will seek to extend their dominance at the same venue in the first T20I on Thursday.

Interestingly, Sri Lanka, like Bangladesh, are without their first-choice captain: Angelo Mathews and Shakib Al Hasan are both recovering from injuries. While Mathews has been out of action because of a hamstring injury, Shakib, who has not sufficiently recovered from a finger injury, is expected to return to the side for the second T20I.

Sri Lanka will be led by Dinesh Chandimal, their Test captain who last featured in a T20I against South Africa in January last year. A lot will depend on his ability to steady the innings alongside Upul Tharanga, with the likes of Niroshan Dickwella doing the big hitting.

Sri Lanka have also found a replacement for the injured Kusal Perera in Kusal Mendis, who is coming off a good run, including a career-best 196 in Chittagong, in the Test series.

In the bowling department, they have Jeevan Mendis, the leg-spinning all-rounder who last played a T20I when he turned out against South Africa in 2013. Sri Lanka have a mix of young talented spinners too in Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay and Amila Aponso.

Bangladesh, meanwhile, will be guided by Mahmudullah, and have a host of newcomers in their side. They have four uncapped players in Abu Jahed Rahi, Ariful Haque, Zakir Hasan and Afif Hossain.

Bangladesh will rely on the experience of Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman and Mahmudullah in the batting department, while Mustafizur Rahman will lead the bowling unit, which also has Rubel Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin and Abu Hider Rony, who is back in the squad after last turning out for Bangladesh at the ICC World T20 2016.

Sri Lanka hold a good record against Bangladesh in T20Is, having won five of the seven head-to-head encounters, but, importantly, Bangladesh have won their only face-off in Dhaka, in February 2016 during the Asia Cup.

Teams from

Mahmudullah (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jahed Rahi, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain, Nazmul Islam Apu.

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (capt and wk), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Shehan Madushanka, Jeffrey Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Jeevan Mendis, Asitha Fernando.

Pitch and conditions
The pitch in Mirpur is likely to be slow but still good for batting. The weather forecast is promising, with the temperature expected to hover around 22 deg in the evening.

Stats and trivia
Perhaps Mustafizur's most-impressive T20 stat is his economy rate of 6.16 after 17 innings. At home, that rate goes further down to 5.61.

Match facts
Thursday 15 February 2018
Start time: 17:00 local (11:00 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links